UTFacultiesEEMCSResearchInstitutes and Departments

Institutes & Departments

Within the EEMCS faculty we perform disciplinary research in electrical engineering, mathematics and computer science. 

Synergy between disciplines opens a whole new world of new scientific challenges. We highly value synergy, therefore we stimulate interdisciplinary research. Some examples are creative technology, data science, robotics and imaging. 

To maximise our efforts to have a true impact on society we conduct research across the boundaries of disciplines. At the UT the multidisciplinary research projects come together in our institutes. Three research institutes play an important role in realizing synergy between the faculties: the MESA+ institute for Nanotechnology, the Institute for Medical Technology and the Institute for the Digital Society.

These research institutes form an active connection with society. Principal investigators have an active participation on a national level (Nationale Wetenschapsagenda, Topsectoren) and on an international level, for example by participating in Horizon2020 projects. It is in this context that we are able to contribute to societal challenges.


  • BIOS - Biomedical and Environmental Sensorsystems

    Chair: Prof.dr.ir. A. van den Berg
    Secretary: H. Knol-de Vries (Hermine)
    Telephone: +31-53-489-5653
    Room: CR 2247

  • BSS - Biomedical Signals and Systems

    Chair: Prof.dr.ir. P.H. Veltink
    Secretary: A.H.G. Westhoff (Sandra)
    Telephone: +31-53-489-2760
    Room: ZH 226

  • CAES - Computer Architecture for Embedded Systems

    Chair: Prof.dr.ir.A.L. Varbanescu 
    Secretary: Nicole Baveld / Marjon Visser 
    Telephone: +31-53-489-3633 / 3693
    Room: ZI 5038

  • DACS - Design and Analysis of Communication Systems

    Chair: Prof.dr.ir. G.J. Heijenk
    Secretary: Nicole Baveld / Marjon Visser  
    Telephone: +31-53-489-3633 / 3693
    Room: ZI 5038

  • DMB - Data Management & Biometrics (DMB)

    Chair: dr.ir. M. van Keulen
    Secretary: K. van Loggerenberg (Karen)
    Telephone: +31-53-489-3453
    Room: ZI 4120

  • DMMP - Discrete Mathematics and Mathematical Programming (part of Cluster MOR)

    Chair: Prof.dr. M.J. Uetz
    Secretary: J.M. Mulder (Marjo)
    Telephone: +31-53-4893433
    Room: CI H119

    part of cluster Mathematics of Operations Research

  • FMT - Formal Methods and Tools

    Chair: Prof.dr. M. Huisman
    Secretary: M.H. Steenbergen-Boeringa (Marion)
    Telephone: +31-53-489-2805
    Room: ZI 3051

  • HMI - Human Media Interaction (HMI)

    Chair: Prof.dr.D.K.J. Heylen
    Secretary: C.G. Bijron (Charlotte), F. Klaassen (Fiona)
    Telephone: +31-53-489-3740, +31-53-489-3680
    Room: ZI 2047

  • ICD - Integrated Circuit Design

    Chair: Prof.dr. B. Nauta
    Secretary: G. Lammers (Gerdien)
    Telephone: +31-53-489-4831
    Room: CR 2635

  • Mathematics of Computational Science (MaCS)

    Website: www.utwente.nl/eemcs/sacs
    Email: secretariat-sacs-eemcs@utwente.nl

    Chair: Prof.dr.ir. J.J.W. van der Vegt
    Secretary: M. Slotboom-Plekenpol (Mariëlle), L. Wychgel-van Dalm (Linda)
    Telephone: +31-53-489-4272, +31-53-489-3372
    Room: ZI 3038

  • Mathematics of Imaging &AI (MIA)

    Website: www.utwente.nl/eemcs/msacs/
    Email: secretariat-sacs-eemcs@utwente.nl

    Chair: Prof.dr. C. Brune
    Secretary:  M. Slotboom-Plekenpol (Mariëlle), L. Wychgel-van Dalm (Linda)
    Telephone: +31-53-489-4272, +31-53-489-3372
    Room: ZI 3038

  • 3MS - Mathematical Multiscale Modeling and Simulation

    Website: www.utwente.nl/eemcs/sacs
    Email: secretariat-sacs-eemcs@utwente.nl

    Chair: Prof.dr.ir. B.J. Geurts
    Secretary: M. Slotboom-Plekenpol (Mariëlle), L. Wychgel-van Dalm (Linda)
    Telephone: +31-53-489-4272, +31-53-489-3372
    Room: ZI 3038

  • MAST - Mathematics of Systems Theory

    Website: www.utwente.nl/eemcs/sacs
    Email: secretariat-sacs-eemcs@utwente.nl

    Chair: Prof.dr. H.J. Zwart
    Secretary:  M.Slotboom-Plekenpol (Mariëlle), L.Wychgel-van Dalm (Linda)
    Telephone: +31-53-489-4272, +31-53-489-3372
    Room: ZI 3038

  • NE - Nano Electronics

    Chair: Prof.dr.ir. W.G. van der Wiel
    Secretary: J. Kuipers-Beld (Judith)
    Telephone: +31-53-489-4434
    Room: CR 1.427

  • PE - Power Electronics and Electromagnetic Compatibility

    Chair: Prof.dr. J.A. Ferreira 
    Secretary: E.M. Hannink (Lilian Hannink)
    Telephone: +31-53-489 3856
    Room: Carré building - floor 2

  • RS - Radio Systems

    Chair: Dr.ir. A.B.J. Kokkeler
    Secretary: E.M. Hannink (Lilian)
    Telephone: +31-53-489-3856
    Room: Carré building - floor 2

  • PS - Pervasive Systems

    Chair: Prof.dr. P.J.M. Havinga
    Secretary: Nicole Baveld / Marjon Visser 
    Telephone: +31-53-489-3633 / 3693
    Room: ZI 5038

  • RAM - Robotics and Mechatronics

    Chair: Prof.dr.ir. S. Stramigioli, dr.ir. J.F. Broenink 
    Secretary: J.M. Boelema-Kaufmann (Jolanda)
    Telephone: +31-53-489-2626
    Room: CR 3441,CR 3047 

  • IDS - Integrated Devices and Systems

    Chair: Prof.dr. J. Schmitz
    Secretary: M.L. Kampman (Marthe)
    Telephone: +31-53-489-7539
    Room: CR2009

  • SCS - Semantics, Cybersecurity and Services

    Chair: Prof.Dr. G. Guizzardi
    Management Assistant: Management/Office Assistants: B.F.J. Scholten – Koop (Bertine) / A.W.L. Ligtenberg (Laura)
    Telephone: +31 53 489-3776 (Bertine) / +31 53 489-8919 (Laura)
    Room: ZI 2015

  • SOR - Stochastic Operations Research (part of cluster MOR)

    Chair: Prof.dr. R.J. Boucherie
    Secretary: T. Kamphuis-Kuijpers (Thyra)
    Telephone: +31-53-489-3434
    Room: CI H142

    part of cluster Mathematics of Operations Research

  • STAT - Statistics (part of cluster MOR)

    Chair: Prof.dr. A.J. Schmidt-Hieber
    Secretary:  J.M. Mulder (Marjo)
    Telephone: +31-53-489-3434 
    Room: ZI 4038

    part of cluster Mathematics of Operations Research

Research Facilities

  • TCO Technical support for departments

    TCO Technical support for departments link

  • NanoLab

    NanoLab link

  • SmartXP facility

    SmartXP facility @ Zilverling link to Foursquare. 

  • Ethics Committee

    Ethics Committee @ EEMCS link
    Ethics and Policies @ UT link
    Research Support @ EEMCS link

  • DesignLab

    DesignLab link