HomeNews & eventsCorporate announcementsBoudewijn Haverkort new dean faculty EEMCS

Boudewijn Haverkort new dean faculty EEMCS

The Executive Board of the University of Twente has appointed prof.dr.ir. B.R. (Boudewijn) Haverkort (1964) as the new dean of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Mathematics & Computer Science (EEMCS). With effect from 1 October next, Haverkort will fill this role, for a period of four years. Currently, Boudewijn is working as dean of the Tilburg School of Humanities and Digital Sciences at Tilburg University.

Boudewijn Haverkort is very familiar with UT: he studied and obtained his PhD in Twente and, after obtaining his PhD in 1991, went to work as a lecturer at the Faculty of Computer Science. After a period abroad - from 1995 to 2002, he was professor of Computer Science at RWTH Aachen - he returned to Twente. Besides his professorship in the Design and Analysis of Communication Systems department, he held various roles, including head of the Computer Science department. In that position, he was also part of the management team of the EEMCS faculty.

Boudewijn was scientific director of the Embedded Systems Institute in Eindhoven from 2009 to 2013, where he led the integration of the research centre into TNO. Since 2016, he has chaired Commit2Data, a multi-year national research and innovation programme based on public-private partnerships (PPPs), focusing on cross-sector collaboration on big data issues.

Boudewijn Haverkort on his appointment: ‘I am very much looking forward to returning to the University of Twente. I am eager to learn about the latest developments within the faculty and the university and to make my contribution to the further development. EEMCS is a great faculty that is well positioned from its strengths, including digitisation, artificial intelligence and chip technology, to contribute to various societal (transition) issues. Ultimately, that is what it is all about: being meaningful to society together. By offering challenging studies, by conducting excellent research and the strong collaboration with societal partners.’

Tom Veldkamp, rector of the University of Twente: ‘We are happy to welcome Boudewijn to our university. He is an ambitious and experienced scientist with a great track record and who also brings relevant board and management experience. The faculty and the university are facing a tough period, with plenty of challenges on the way that require close cooperation between all involved. The dean fills a key role in this, and we are confident that Boudewijn will fulfil that role successfully.’

The faculty board currently consists of Peter Veltink, who serves as interim dean in addition to his role as portfolio holder for research, Alma Schaafstal, portfolio holder for education, Mert Alberts, interim portfolio holder for operations and Gergana Georgieva, student assessor. The recruitment of a new portfolio holder for operations is currently ongoing.

The Executive Board wishes Boudewijn every success and looks forward to renewed collaboration.

L.P.W. van der Velde MSc (Laurens)
Spokesperson Executive Board (EB)