The education of the University of Twente is provided by the five faculties:

The faculty research is partly conducted in large research institutes. Each faculty takes part in one or multiple institutes. ITC is a sui generis faculty as well as a research institute and works together with IGS and CTIT. The matrix below shows how the faculties and institutes are intertwined.