The UT uses the salary scales which were previously nationally adopted in the Collective Labour Agreement of Dutch Universities (CAO-NU). There are eighteen general salary scales. In addition, salary scales for youths and separate scales for specific jobs have been developed. Each scale has a minimum and a maximum, with a number of gradually increasing salaries (steps or increments) in between.