Choosing a master's but missed the Online Open Day?

Within the Master’s in Business Administration, you need to choose one of the seven specialisations.

As a student, you have a great deal of freedom to structure your Master’s according to your interests and ambitions, thanks to the broad range of specialisations (and electives) you can choose from, some of which you will not easily find elsewhere. This way, you get to develop your own expertise and become the business leader you wish to be.

Co-decide the content of your Master’s

How to compose your Master’s

As a student of the Master’s in Business Administration (BA), you will follow four compulsory courses which provide a solid theoretical foundation in the most important fields of business administration. What the rest of your curriculum looks like, depends on the choices you make in composing your Master’s. There are two steps to do this:

  • Step 1 Choose a specialisation
  • Step 2 Select electives

    Once you have chosen your specialisation, you will compose a set of four electives that match your interests and ambitions. You need to choose (at least) three elective courses that are related to your specialisation (the specialisation in Digital Business & Analytics is an exception to this rule, with two mandatory courses and one elective). The fourth elective course can be any BA course you like. You might even add an elective from another master’s at UT (at the discretion of the programme director).

    Your interests may shift during your studies, or you might think that a different elective would better suit your ambitions. There is still the opportunity to adjust your curriculum during the programme.

More information on how to compose your Master’s?

Get in touch

Master’s structure

During your Master’s in Business Administration, you will collect a total of 60 EC within one year. In addition to the four compulsory courses of the Master's in Business Administration, you will follow additional courses within the specialisation of your choice.

European Credit Transfer System

Student workload at Dutch universities is expressed in EC, also named ECTS (European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System), which is widely used throughout the European Union. In the Netherlands, each credit represents 28 hours of work.

Compulsory courses for the Master’s


15 EC

Entrepreneurial Leadership & Responsible Organisational Design

Qualitative Research and Business Skills

Quantitative Design Methods in Business Research

Business Valuation & Corporate Governance

Specialisation courses

15 EC

You will follow three courses that are related to the specialisation you chose. Find out more about the courses you can follow by first choosing a specialisation.

Free elective course


5 EC

You can choose one elective freely. This can be a fourth course related to your specialisation, or one of the BA electives of other specialisations.

Master’s thesis

25 EC

You will complete your Master’s with your master’s thesis. You will either perform this within the industry or conduct research at the university. This can also be done abroad.

Total EC

60 EC


Member of

Chat offline (info)
To use this functionality you first need to:
Accept cookies