HomeNewsLeen van Wijngaarden Prize 2015 for Prof. Dr. Jacco Snoeijer.
Jacco Snoeijer
physics of fluids

Leen van Wijngaarden Prize 2015 for Prof. Dr. Jacco Snoeijer.

On 17 February 2016 Prof. Dr. Jacco Snoeijer (Physics of Fluids group UT & TU/e) was presented with the Leen van Wijngaarden Prize for his excellent work on the dynamics of wetting and moving contact lines.

Jacco Snoeijer’s research focuses on flows in the presence of a free surface, such as thin liquid films, drops or bubbles. These flows are governed by capillary forces (surface tension) and lead to many interesting shapes and phenomena. He is also interested in the elastic interaction of fluids with soft boundaries. These "Soft Wetting" phenomena arise for example for liquid drops on gels or in lubrication of sliding solids. Besides fundamental interest, capillary flows are at the core of industrial applications like coating and small-scale imaging technologies.

The 2015 Prize will be awarded to Professor Snoeijer at the Burgers Symposium, which will be held at conference centre ‘De Werelt’ in Lunteren on 16 – 17 June 2016. At this occasion, the Prize winner will be giving a presentation about his scientific work.

 The Leen van Wijngaarden Prize for excellence in Fluid Mechanics is awarded every four years for a researcher less than 40 years of age affiliated with one of the groups of the JM Burgerscentrum. The prize is intended for an important and interesting contribution to fluid mechanics. It was named in honor of Leen van Wijngaarden, professor emeritus at the University of Twente. The prize consisted of €5,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient.