Complaints procedure

Complaints committee composition

All formal complaints are reviewed by an independent complaints committee: the University of Twente Complaints Committee. The members of this committee are appointed by the Executive Board.

The University of Twente Complaints Committee is composed of:

  • a chairperson and deputy chairperson, both external appointments (and therefore not engaged by the Executive Board), namely drs. Y.J. Bouwman-Bakker and J. Wesseling-Lubberink, LL.M.;
  • two members nominated by the University of Twente, namely H.A. Akse, MSc (Faculty of Science and Technology), J.F.C. Verberne (Formerly Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Science)
  • two members nominated by the University of Twente HR Consultative Body (OPUT), namely W.C.J. Beekman, LL.M., and L.J.M. Ketting, LL.M.

Any complaints committee dealing with a specific complaint is comprised of a chairperson, one UT member and one OPUT member. Any complaints committee member who is a direct colleague of the complainant and/or the accused or is in any other way familiar with any of these persons may not be included in the composition of the committee concerned, so as to avoid any appearance of bias.

The complaints committee is supported in its substantive and administrative tasks by its secretary, C.G.M. (Ineke) Jenniskens, PhD. For more information on the complaints procedure, please contact her by email or via telephone extension 5462. Mrs Jenniskens is generally available at the UT on Mondays, Tuesdays and Fridays.

The complaints committee annually renders account of its work to the Executive Board in a report. All annual reports drawn up since 2010 are available in the Dutch language to all interested parties.