HomeNewsEEMCS faculty board complete with appointment of Mirije van Dijk as new managing director

EEMCS faculty board complete with appointment of Mirije van Dijk as new managing director

Mirije van Dijk (1971) is the new managing director of the Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Science (EEMCS) faculty at the University of Twente, effective from 1 September. This position is currently held by Mert Alberts, who is temporarily filling this role.

Currently, Mirije van Dijk is working as Care of the Future programme manager at the Medisch Spectrum Twente (MST) hospital. In this role, she is responsible for implementing the care transformation programme to prepare the hospital for the challenges of the future. Mirije has been working at MST since 2015 in various managerial positions. Before that, she held various positions in childcare and worked abroad for several years. Mirije lives in Enschede, is married, and has two children.

Mirije van Dijk on her appointment: "During the procedure, I met several faculty colleagues and what struck me was the openness in the conversation. The desire to work together on the challenges facing both the faculty and UT was also evident. I am very much looking forward to getting to know and working with all colleagues at EEMCS."

Machteld Roos, vice president of the Executive Board: "We are excited about Mirije's appointment. She is driven and brings a lot of experience as a leader. The challenges we face as a university require both acceleration in the implementation of measures and close cooperation between many stakeholders. We think Mirije can play a connecting role in this, and we wish her every success in her new position."

With Mirije's appointment, the EEMCS faculty board is once again complete. Recently, Boudewijn Haverkort was appointed dean. He will assume this role with effect from 1 October. The faculty board also consists of Peter Veltink, portfolio holder for research and also interim dean until 1 October, Alma Schaafstal, portfolio holder for education and Gergana Georgieva, student assessor.

L.P.W. van der Velde MSc (Laurens)
Spokesperson Executive Board (EB)