Organizational structure


The  Executive Board is the highest executive council of the University of Twente and is charged with the administration and management of the University. The board consist of three members: a chair, a vice-chair and the rector magnificus. They are appointed by the Supervisory Board.

The Board is supported by the Secretary of the University the highest official adviser of the Board, as well as the 'general director' of the official organization, the supporting services and service centres.

The University Council, in short the URaad or UR, is the centralized participation body and regularly consults with the Executive Board. More information about participation at the UT can be found at our participation website.

The Student Union is the umbrella body of students and student organizations at the University of Twente. The University of Twente has issued the Student Union with a mandate to write policy for student activities and student facilities at the University of Twente. 

Organization chart


The research at the University largely takes place within the research institutes that focus on nanotechnology (MESA+), ICT (CTIT), biomedical technology and technical medicine (MIRA), governance (IGS) and geo-information sciences and earth observation (ITC). 


Our education and a part of the applied research takes place at our facultiesBehavioural, Management and Social Sciences (BMS)Engineering Technology (CTW), Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Science (EEMCS), Geo-Information Science and Earth Observation (ITC) and Science and Technology (TNW). 


The Pre-university college and the pupils lab organize connecting activities for primary school pupils and pupils from the first grades of secondary school, under the name Pre-U.

The doctoral research of the University is housed at the Twente Graduate School.