HomeEducationAbout our educationSite visit and panel of experts

Site visit and panel of experts

Get support on choosing a study

panel of experts of the nvao

The panel of higher education experts is scheduled to visit the University of Twente on 11 and 12 November 2019 for an exploratory visit. The in-depth visit is scheduled on 16, 17 and 18 December 2019.

The Institutional Quality Assurance Audit is conducted by an expert panel, whose members are nominated by the Accreditation Organisation of the Netherlands and Flanders (NVAO). Each panel member represents a different field of expertise. This diversity in membership is vital to an effective institutional review.

The following panel has been assembled for the 2019 Institutional Quality Assurance Audit:

  • Prof. Huibert Pols (chair)

    Prof. Huibert Adriaan Pieter Pols (chair) studied medicine at Erasmus University Rotterdam, where he obtained his MD in 1977. In 1988, he completed his doctoral thesis, entitled Vitamin D Action and Regulation in Bone Cells and supervised by Jan Birkenhäger, also at Erasmus University Rotterdam. Five years prior, in 1983, he had joined the staff of the Dijkzigt Hospital, which would later become Erasmus MC. His appointment as professor of Internal Medicine at Erasmus University Rotterdam followed in 1998, and in 2000 he was named head of the Internal Medicine department. On 1 October 2006, he became dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences and vice-president of the Board of Directors of Erasmus MC. His appointment as rector magnificus followed in 2013. Prof. Pols has been retired since 15 June 2018.

  • Prof. Henriëtte Maassen van den Brink

    Henriëtte Maassen van den Brink is professor of Education and Labour Economics at the University of Amsterdam. Her expertise and research interests lie in the areas of education, the labour market and economic development. She has been the scientific coordinator of the Top Institute for Evidence Based Education Research (TIER) since 2008. From 2015 to 2018, Prof. Maassen van den Brink was president of the Education Council.

  • Dr. Colette Alma-Zeestraten

    Colette Alma-Zeestraten’s fields of expertise include molecular sciences, mathematics and physics. Since 2004, she has been director general of the Royal Association of the Dutch Chemical Industry (VNCI). Prior to this, she held various positions at Royal Dutch Shell, where her activities focussed on sustainable development. From 2000 to 2004, she was director general at the National Initiative for Sustainable Development (NIDO). She has also served on the board of the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research’s (NWO) Chemical Sciences department.

  • Prof. Kristiaan Versluys

    Kristiaan Versluys obtained his PhD in Comparative Literature from Harvard University in 1979. He is professor of American Literature and Culture at Ghent University (Belgium) and the founder of the Ghent Urban Studies Team (GUST). In 2001, he was elected as a member of the Royal Flemish Academy of Belgium. During the 2007/2008 academic year, he served as director of education at Ghent University’s Faculty of Arts and Philosophy. In October 2008, he became director of education for the entire university. His responsibilities include the university’s general education policy, quality assurance, advisory services, registration procedures, curriculum development, rules and regulations, and internationalization.

  • Stijntje Dijk (student member)

    Stijntje is an internationally active honors student of medicine at the EUR who has followed a minor Leadership in Organizations. She is used to fulfill an active role in panels.