CTIT University of Twente
Research Business & Innovation About CTIT Research Calls Looking for a job? Intranet



On Thursday June 6 the Telecommunication Engineering group is hosting a guest tutorial by Dr. Alexander M. Wyglinski (from Worcester Polytechnic Institute, MA, USA).

It will take place in Room 2H of the Carré building at 16:00h. A route description to the University of Twente can be found here. The Carré building is no. 15 on the Campus map. The closest parking place is P2.

Within the framework of the IEEE Distinguished Lecturer Program, Dr. Wyglinski is providing a series of talks in Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands, from June 4 to June 6. This Benelux tour is hosted by the IEEE Benelux Joint Chapter on Communications and Vehicular Technology. More information on his presentations in Ghent and Luxembourg can be found here.

Title: Software Defined Radio and Cognitive Radio Implementations and Test-Beds

Modern society depends on telecommunications in order to enable a diverse range of activities, such as financial transactions, public safety, education, and social networking.  To achieve ubiquitous and robust last-mile access, many applications require some form of wireless transmission to connect the end-users with the rest of the network. However, several serious issues are beginning to emerge given society's growing dependence on wireless access.  For instance, although the demand for wireless access based on the number of users and applications is rising steadily, the amount of freely-available electromagnetic spectrum is rather limited and may not satisfy this need.  Furthermore, new complex wireless networking architectures are becoming increasingly difficult to realize using conventional radio technology.  Consequently, cognitive radio has been proposed as a viable solution to these issues.  A cognitive radio is a type of wireless networking system that combines autonomous device operating parameter reconfigurability, real-time situational awareness of the radio/network/system environment, and artificial intelligence-driven decision-making for achieving the "best possible" parameter selection.  This is all made possible by employing microprocessor technology at the core of a cognitive radio system in order to perform baseband digital signal processing and digital communication operations.  In this talk, implementations of several subsystems that constitute a cognitive radio platform using software defined radio will be presented, including digital transmission and digital signal processing techniques for enabling high-speed wireless data access across several non-contiguous frequency bands, and the latest research findings in these areas will be presented.

Biography of the Lecturer:
Dr. Alexander M. Wyglinski is internationally recognized as an expert in the field of wireless communications, specializing in cognitive and software-defined radio, dynamic spectrum access, cyber-physical systems and security, and wireless system optimization and adaptation.  He is an Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI), Worcester, MA, Director of the Wireless Innovation Laboratory (WI Lab), and the Lead Investigator of the Cyber Physical and Secure Systems (CPASS) initiative at WPI. Dr. Wyglinski received his B.Eng. and Ph.D. degrees in 1999 and 2005 from McGill University, and his M.Sc.(Eng.) degree from Queen’s University in Kingston in 2000, all in Electrical Engineering.  Throughout his academic career, Dr. Wyglinski has published over 30 journal papers, over 75 conference papers, 9 book chapters, and two textbooks.  Dr. Wyglinski’s research activities have been or are currently being sponsored by organizations such as the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), the Naval Research Laboratory (NRL), the Office of Naval Research (ONR), the Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL) – Space Vehicles Directorate, The MathWorks, Toyota InfoTechnology Center U.S.A., and the National Science Foundation.  Dr. Wyglinski is a Senior Member of the IEEE, as well as a member of Sigma Xi, Eta Kappa Nu, and the ASEE.