CTIT University of Twente
Research Business & Innovation About CTIT Research Calls Looking for a job? Intranet

Johnny Søraker, Edwin Dertien and Hans Zwart nominated for UT best teacher award

CTIT wants to congratulate all of the nominees for the UT’s best teacher award 2012! This year no less than three out of three nominees are CTIT researchers. And clearly we are rooting for all of them.

Johnny Søraker’s candidacy is a remarkable one , for he was nominated by the students of the computer science department for his teachings in “Computer Ethics”. It is not every day that a teacher of ethics wins a teaching prize for a technical degree programme. Hans Zwart beat fellow candidates Ruud van Damme and Antonios Zagaris for the mathematics department’s best teacher award. And Edwin Dertien was a clear favourite for the students of the creative technology programme.

Every year students of each department / study programme, usually through their study association, pick their best teacher. Based on jury interviews, three nominees are selected out of all department winners to compete for the university-wide prize.

The final
To cast your vote for the university-wide competition, make sure to be at the Horst building room C101 on June 4, 2012 from 13:45-16.00h. In this year’s final, the nominees will present a short lecture on the topic “Offroad of met TomTom” (Off-road or with navigation). Where off-road represents the creative and unconventional way and TomTom stands for more efficient, structured and the line of least resistance.

Hans Zwart

Johnny Søraker (left)

Edwin Dertien