CTIT University of Twente


Core organizations

In order to realise our aims and ambition, building blocks have to be developed and interconnected by close collaboration of multi-disciplinary research groups. The core of the Centre for Monitoring and Coaching consists of heads of departments and researchers of the following research groups:

These groups are part of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Science (EEMCS) and the Faculty of Behavioural, Management and Social Sciences (BMS) of the University of Twente.

Together these three groups have essential expertise in the required areas to research and create successful telemonitoring and coaching applications.

Core members

Key actors from within these three research groups are the CMC Coordinators, the Organization committee, and a number of Core researchers.


  • Prof. dr. ir. Hermie Hermens (EEMCS-BSS)
  • Prof. dr. Dirk Heylen (EEMCS-HMI)
  • Prof. dr. Ernst Bohlmeijer (BMS-PHT)

Organization committee
  • dr. ir. Harm op den Akker (EEMCS-BSS)
  • dr. ir. Randy Klaassen (EEMCS-HMI)
  • dr. ir. Monique Tabak (EEMCS-BSS)
  • dr. Mirjam Radstaak (BMS-PHT)
  • ir. Wendy Oude Nijeweme - d'Hollosy (EEMCS-BSS)

Core researchers
  • Prof. dr. Miriam Vollenbroek-Hutten (EEMCS-BSS)
  • dr. ir. Bert-Jan van Beijnum (EEMCS-BMS)
  • Prof. dr. Peter Veltink (EEMCS-BSS)
  • Prof. dr. ir. Paul Havinga (EEMCS-PS)
  • Prof. dr. Vanessa Evers (EEMCS-HMI)
  • dr. ir. Rieks op den Akker (EEMCS-HMI)
  • Prof. dr. Karlein Schreurs (BMS-PHT)
  • Prof. dr. Lisette van Gemert-Pijnen (BMS-PHT)
  • dr. ir. Marten van Sinderen (EEMCS-IS)
  • dr. Oresti Banos (EEMCS-BSS)
  • dr. Ainara Garde (EEMCS-BSS)


The Centre for Monitoring and Coaching has a list of strong collaborations with various University of Twente research groups, as well as external partners. There is strong cooperation with Roessingh Research and Development in many areas, where each PhD candidate has an external position (PNUT) at the EEMCS-BSS group. In addition, there are strong and on-going cooperations with other UT groups such as EEMCS-SCS (requirements, infrastructure), EEMCS-PS (wireless sensor networks), and EEMCS-IS (software, architecture). In addition, there are project-based cooperations with research groups related to security and privacy (EEMCS-DIES), business modelling (BMS-IEBIS), impact on the society (BMS-STePS) and efficiency of the health care solutions (BMS-HTSR).

Our growing number of partnerships are listed below: