UTFacultiesTNWClustersResearch groupsLPNONewsDavid Marpaung elected Optica Fellow

David Marpaung elected Optica Fellow

David Marpaung, Professor of Nonlinear Nanophotonics at the University of Twente (MESA+ Institute), has been elected Optica Fellow, by the Optica Publishing Group, formerly known as Optical Society of America (OSA). The ‘Optica Fellow Class 2022’ consists of 106 scientists from 24 countries.

David receives this honourable award ’For pioneering contributions to the research and development of integrated microwave photonic devices and systems’. Optica is a 105-year old society with 22,000 members from 180 countries. Every year, only less than 0.5% of the total members is elected Optica Fellow. This year there were 106 fellows inducted, including two fellows coming from the Netherlands.

The term “Integrated Microwave Photonics” that David coined in 2012, is now  one of the fastest growing fields in photonics. In 2019 he published a review paper of this field in Nature Photonics (https://www.nature.com/articles/s41566-018-0310-5) that has been cited over 400 times in three years (UT press release about this paper).

David Marpaung (1979) got his Bachelor’s degree at the Institut Teknologi in Bandung, and his MSc and PhD degree at the University of Twente. From 2012-2017 he was at the Centre for Ultrahigh Bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS) of the University of Sydney. In 2015 the Australian Research Council granted him the Discovery Early Career Research Award (DECRA). In 2018, when he was back in The Netherlands, he received he Vidi Grant and Start Up grant by Dutch Research Council NWO. In Nonlinear Nanophotonics group , he specializes in hybrid systems that combine light, sound and radio waves.

The Optica news release is here

ir. W.R. van der Veen (Wiebe)
Press relations (available Mon-Fri)