UTFacultiesTNWNewsSuccessful kick-off for NWA programme NL-ECO

Successful kick-off for NWA programme NL-ECO Netherlands Initiative for Energy-Efficient Computing

On 31 May and 1 June, the kick-off of 'NL-ECO: Netherlands Initiative for Energy-Efficient Computing' took place in the U-Park Hotel on the Campus of the University of Twente. This programme, part of the National Science Agenda (NWA), aims to develop new concepts and associated materials for energy-efficient information technologies.

In the NL-ECO programme, 33 academic, industrial and societal organisations join forces on one of the major social challenges; how can the rapidly increasing consumption of energy in information technologies be curbed? The programme will focus, among other things, on the development and application of new chip technologies that combine electrical, optical and magnetic effects, on new ways of data processing inspired by the functioning of the brain, and on materials structured in such a way that they can perform calculations automatically.

More information

The programme, led by UT professor Hans Hilgenkamp, has a duration of 5 years and, with 10.3 million euros in funding from NWO and a further 2.5 million euros in co-financing from the participating companies, is one of the largest NWA programmes. It will also form the basis for further forms of cooperation. Prof Dr Hans Hilgenkamp is Professor of Applied Physics and Nanotechnology at the NanoElectronic Materials research cluster (Faculty of Science and Technology, TNW). He is also co-director of the BRAINS Center of the Research Institute for Nanotechnology MESA+ and is associated with the Digital Society Institute of the University of Twente.

Consortium NL-ECO

University of Twente, Radboud University, University of Groningen, Eindhoven University of Technology, Delft University of Technology, Fontys University of Applied Sciences, Saxion University of Applied Sciences, AMOLF, ASTRON, TNO, ASML, IBM Zurich Research Lab, Toyota Motor Europe, Thales, IMEC Leuven, IMEC Eindhoven, Smart Photonics, LioniX International BV, PITC, VSPARTICLE, Surf, TSST, European Space Agency, Green IT Amsterdam, Municipality of Westerkwartier, Amsterdam Economic Board, HQ Graphene, Örebro University, Uppsala University, Jülich Research Center, Max-Planck Institute for Microstructure Physics, NLdigital, and Science LinX.