UTFacultiesETNewsThe Hoogendoorn award 2020 is known

The Hoogendoorn award 2020 is known

Dr. Ir. Anouk Bomers is the winner of the 2020 KIVI Hoogendoorn Award for her PhD thesis in Fluid Mechanics.

The jury for the Hoogendoorn Award 2020 comprised of Professor Arthur Veldman (RU Groningen; chair), Professor Wolfgang Schröder (RWTH Aachen) and  Dr.ir. Tim Peeters (Tata Steel).

They have selected Dr.Ir. Anouk Bomers for her outstanding PhD research in the area of Fluid Mechanics. She defended her PhD thesis on the 17th of January, 2020 at the University of Twente. Her promotor was professor Suzanne Hulscher and the co-promotor was Dr. Ralph Schielen. Her research was performed in the research group of Marine and Fluvial Systems at the University of Twente.

The title of his PhD thesis was: Hydraulic modelling approaches to decrease uncertainty in flood frequency relations.

The Hoogendoorn Award will be awarded to Dr. Anouk Bomers (as well as the winner of the Hoogendoorn award 2019, Dr. Cees Voesenek) at the Burgers Symposium, which will be held on 26 – 27 May 2021. Due to the corona pandemic, it is not clear in what form the symposium will take place.

The Hoogendoorn Award is the award for the best PhD thesis on Fluid Mechanics in the Netherlands and is a collaboration between KIVI Mechanics and the J.M. Burgerscentrum (JMBC). More information can be found here.