See News

2019: New Year's Breakfast and UT in the Media Prize

During the New Year's Breakfast last week, Victor van der Chijs looked forward to some exciting developments in 2019. The new TechMedCentre in the Technohal will be opened, as well as the U-Parkhotel. But also, the organization accreditation by the Dutch-Flemish Accreditation Organization NVAO will be an important occassion for the UT. Victor also referred to the strategy process, Shaping2030, which will provide a successor for Vision2020 by the end of the year.

For the president of the Executive Board, the process should lead to an ambitious and inspiring perspective for the future of the university: not awaiting changes that might be coming, but be change leaders ourselves. To be able to present a new strategic document for the University of Twente by the end of 2020, an open participation process will be organized. Starting 18 January, various inspirational sessions will be held to feed the discussions. More information can be found (intranet).


Around 1,500 students and employees attended the New Year's Breakfast in de Vrijhof, with an extended breakfast buffet, the new year's speech of the university's president and the presentation of the UT media awards. Singer-songwriter Judy Blank performed at the occassion.

A photo impression is available here.


It has become a tradition to honour the members of the UT community that have been in the media a lot last year. Arjen Hoekstra (1st), Hans Heerkens (2nd) and Marcel Boogers (3rd) received an award for being mentioned in the media most in 2018. Boogers' award was presented to PhD candidate Franziska Eckhardt, as Boogers was not present at the meeting. De prize for student went to Electric Superbike Twente, Joep Schyns and Rick Hogeboom were awarded the prize for most succesful PhD candidates. Remke Burie took home the award for most active UT employee on social media.

drs. J.G.M. van den Elshout (Janneke)
Press relations (available Mon-Fri)