Centre for the Study of Democracy (CSD) – Members (March 2017)



Prof. dr. Marcel Boogers

Innovation and regional governance, local democracy and politics

(Inaugural lecture, 2013)

Prof. dr. Bas Denters

Local and regional governance, urban policy, local democracy

Chief Editor of Bestuurswetenschappen

Dr. Shawn Donnelly

Politics of economic policy, especially regulation, monetary, structural adjustment and innovation policy, European and global institutions

Dr. Minna van Gerven-Haanpaa

European social policy and governance, comparative welfare state analysis

(Dissertation, 2008)

Dr. Kostas Gemenis

Political parties and policy positions, Europeanization, environmental politics, methodology

Dr. Giedo Jansen

Political sociology, voting behaviour and electoral research, social stratification research, industrial and labour relations, self-employment

Dr. Pieter-Jan Klok

Policy analysis, local governance, citizen participation

Dr. Henk van der Kolk

Electoral systems, voting behaviour, citizen participation, local politics, research methods

Dr. Claudio Matera

Justice and Home Affairs law of the EU, the law of EU external relations, EU citizenship, free movement of persons and EU institutional law

(Dissertation, 2016)

Prof. dr. Ariana Need

Old and new political cleavages, social change

(Inaugural lecture, 2010)

Dr. Ringo Ossewaarde

Self-government, citizenship, liberalism and conservatism, sovereignty

Dr. Martin Rosema

Voting behaviour, local referendums, political psychology, online vote selectors

(Dissertation, 2004

Prof. dr. Jacques Thomassen

Democratic theory, democratic values, political representation, EU politics

(Farewell lecture, 2010)

Prof. dr. René Torenvlied

Public management, networks and performance in the public sector; collective decision-making and policy implementation

Prof. dr. Ramses Wessel

European legal governance, law of the European Union, EU security and defence policy, international organizations law, multi-level governance, EU external relations

(Inaugural lecture, 2006)

Former members:

  • Prof. dr. Kees Aarts
  • Prof. dr. Bärbel Dorbeck-Jung
  • Prof. dr. Nico Groenendijk
  • Dr. Carolien van Ham
  • Dr. Mirjan Oude Vrielink
  • Dr. Maurits Sanders
  • Dr. Andreas Warntjen