See Archive

XRM Workshop 2016

Following the success of The X-ray Metrology Workshop (XRM) 2015 we are glad to announce that the second XRM 2016 workshop will be organized at the University of Twente, Enschede, The Netherlands from 5th till 6th October 2016.

Scope of the Workshop

This year the programme will have an emphasis on the application of X-ray scattering techniques used for soft condensed matter research. During the workshop we will also discuss the application of powder diffraction, pair distribution, function analysis and analysis of thin films with X-rays.

We gladly invite PhD students and young researchers who develop and use analytical techniques as well as researchers who are using X-rays as a daily analysis tool in their research but are not necessary specialized in X-ray science. The aim of the workshop is to discuss primarily laboratory and some synchrotron applications of X-ray analysis techniques for material science research. The workshop will consist of 5 invited lectures on the key topics and oral and poster presentations from the participants.

At the end of the workshop we will organize a set of interactive sessions that consist of a presentation of a problem given by participants (think of complicated experiment, analysis or simulation of the experiment or theoretical question) followed by a discussion with experts and other participants. We encourage all students to submit a brief description of their project and/or problem (max 100 words) and indicate whether the project or problem falls into the category “experimental” or “interpretation” during the registration. If time allows we will provide post-docs and senior staff members who submitted a problem the slot in the interactive part of a workshop.

Key note speakers:

Dr. Oleg Konovalov, ESRF, “Application of X-ray reflectivity and X-ray standing wave techniques to soft matter studies”;

Prof. Dr. Andre ten Elshof, University of Twente, “Determination of Local Structure in Disordered Systems using SAXS”;

Dr. Ilja Voets, Technical University of Eindhoven, “A small-angle view on macromolecular self-assembly: from supramolecular interactions to supramolecular structures”;

Dr. Milen Gateshki, PANAlytical, “Insights in pair distribution function analysis of X-ray scattering data”;

Dr. Gwilherm Nenert, PANalytical, “X-ray powder methods applied in the analysis of proteins”.

Important dates

September 15th : deadline for registration, oral and poster presentations;

September 23rd : confirmation of the workshop program;

October 5th-6th : XRM workshop 2016.


The X-ray metrology workshop is organized by Dr. I.A. Makhotkin, XUV Optics (, C.Krijnen-Smid, XUV Optics (, Prof. Dr. Ir. G. Koster, IMS ( and Dr. Saskia Lindhoud, Nanobiophysics ( The workshop will be hosted by Prof. Dr. Fred Bijkerk, Prof. Dr. ing. Guus Rijnders and Prof. Dr. Ir. Mireille Claessens (MESA+, University of Twente).

Registration fee

For students : 50 EUR

For senior staff members : 100 EUR

Invited speakers : free

The organizers have a limited possibility to wave the registration fee under special request.

Conference Fee includes: XRM Workshop registration, lunches, coffee/tea, the Workshop dinner on Wednesday October 5th. Hotel is not included in the conference fee and must be booked separately (see hotel accommodation).

Registration is closed; only poster contributions can be send!

You can submit your poster abstract and title to in PDF.

Hotel Accommodation

The Drienerburght hotel is offering a special conference rate of €75 per night including breakfast (or €90 including breakfast for double occupancy). Reservation can be done on the website of the hotel using ‘XRM’ as access code.

Supporting Organizations

MESA+ Institute for Nanotechnology (University of Twente);


PANalytical B.V.;

Industrial focus group XUV Optics (MESA+);

Inorganic Materials Science Group (MESA+).


Secretary: Carin Krijnen-Smid, +31 (0)53-4892863

University of Twente

P.O. Box 217

7500 AE Enschede

The Netherlands

For route description and a campus map, see:

The workshop has been announced on Twitter