See Master programme

Programme Information

The MSc Mechanical Engineering is a two year master's programme. Each year is divided into four quarters, each consisting of ten weeks. The study workload at the UT is 60 European Credits annually (European Credit Transfer System / ECTS). According to Dutch law, one credit represents 28 hours of study and 60 EC represent one year of full-time study. The academic calendar details the holidays taken into account.

In the MSc Mechanical Engineering programme, you will choose both a profile and a specialization. On this page, you will find more information on the profiles and specializations, as well as an overview of the courses. 

Course overview

Below you will find an overview of all the Mechanical Engineering courses, listed per profile and specialization. For more information on the content of the courses, you could use the Osiris course catalogue. For information on scheduling of the courses, you could use MyTimetable


In this master's programme, you will have to choose one of three competency profiles: Research and Development (R&D), Design and Construction (D&C),  and Organization and Management (O&M). These are designed to prepare you for your future profession. Within your chosen profile, you will also choose one of the specializations (listed below). On the profile overview and signup page, you will find more information on how to register your courses and the corresponding registration forms.   


The master Mechanical Engineering is finished with a master thesis assignment. The objective of this assignment is to deepen knowledge and use this for tackling a fundamental problem. Because Mechanical Engineering is a very broad discipline it is necessary to choose a certain area for the assignment. Therefore a specialization has to be chosen too within the chosen track. Within the master Mechanical Engineering are five specializations being: Biomechanical Engineering & Biorobotics (BE), Design, Production & Management (DPM), Maintenance Engineering & Operations (MEO), Mechanics of Solids, Surfaces & Systems (MS3) and Thermal & Fluid Engineering (TFE).