About FFNT


The Board of the Female Faculty Network Twente (FFNT) consists of 6 female academic staff members from all the faculties of the University of Twente. The FFNT Board members ensure the equal representation of the UT faculties at board level, in order to cover the needs and interests of the whole community of academic female employees. Therefore, the Board welcomes professors, associate professors, lecturers, researchers and PhD students. In this academic year, the FFNT Board consists of one full professor, one associate professor, two assistant professors, and one PhD researcher. Administrative assistance to the Board is provided by Mrs. Edith van Eijk. You can reach her at ffnt@utwente.nl

If you are interested in FFNT membership or would like to contact one of the Board members, please approach anyone of the Board members directly or send an e-mail to FFNT. We would be happy to consult you on FFNT-related matters and to provide any information that helps your needs as a female academic staff.


Vanessa Magnanimo (053 4895363)

Group: MultiScale Mechanics (CTW)
Position: Assistant Professor
Area of research: solid mechanics, soil mechanics.
PhD from where: Politecnico di Bari, Bari (IT)
Most important achievement: The development (and industrial funding) of my independent research line on Solid-Soil micromechanics.


M. Pilar Ruiz (053 489 7438)

Group: Sustainable Process Technology (TNW)

Position: Assistant Professor 

Area of research: Biomass conversion, heterogeneous catalysis

PhD from where: University of Zaragoza, Spain

Most important achievement: Development of novel catalytic routes for the conversion of bioethanol and lignin into added-value chemicals and fuels.


Maya Daneva (053 4892889) 

Group: Services, Cybersecurity and Safety (EWI)
Position: Assistant Professor
Area of research: Empirical Software Engineering, Software Analytics, Requirements Engineering
PhD from where: St Clement Ochridsky University of Sofia
Most important achievement: Led four PhD students who successfully defended their PhD theses in the period of 2009-2014.

Diana Reckien (053 4874525) 

Group: Department of Urban and Regional Planning and Geo-Information Management (PGM), 
Faculty of Geo-Information Science and Earth Observation (ITC)
Position: tenure-track Assistant Professor
Area of research: Climate change impacts, vulnerabilities and adaptation options in urban areas to inform climate change policy and practice in intercultural comparisons
PhD from where: University of Marburg, Germany
Most important achievement: 2 years Post-Doc at Earth Institute, Columbia University in the City of New York, USA.

Justyna Chromik

(053 4893737)

Group: Design and Analysis of Communication Systems (EWI)

Position: PhD Student

Area of research: intrusion detection systems in industrial networks

Most important achievement: graduated cum laude from the University of Twente, in February 2015.

Veronica Junjan

Group: Department of Public Administration (BMS)

Position: assistant professor, Public Management
Area of research: Public Administration Reform and decision making in the public sector PhD from where: Babes-Bolyai University, Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Most important achievement: developing my research line in public sector reform development and implementation

Carla Weber 
(053 4894179) 

Position: Secretary at Laser Physics and Non Linear Optics and Female Faculty Network Twente

Jose Wolters - Boers 

Position: Secretary at Human Resources and support of Carla Weber the secretary of the Female Faculty Network Twente