UTFacultiesEEMCSDisciplines & departmentsNENewsUT-Münster Collaboration Grant for NanoElectronics Group

UT-Münster Collaboration Grant for NanoElectronics Group Project lays foundation for long-term cooperation

This week the rectors of the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster (WWU) and the University of Twente (UT) have announced that one of the WWU-UT Collaboration Grants has been awarded to Prof. Wilfred van der Wiel of the NanoElectronics Group and his WWU colleagues Prof. Wolfram Pernice and Prof. Rudolf Bratschitsch of the Physics Institute and CeNTech. The grant comprises a seed funding of in total 80 kEUR, and is targeted at stimulating long-term cooperation between both universities at both sides of the border.

In their project SINGSAW, Van der Wiel and his German colleagues will work on single-photon sources based on hybrid surface acoustic wave devices. They hereby combine the unique expertise in photonics (Pernice), 2D materials (Bratschitsch) and surface acoustic waves (Van der Wiel). Chip-scale single-photon sources are expected to be of crucial importance for future (quantum) integrated optics.

 Prof. Wilfred van der Wiel  Prof. Rudolf Bratschitsch  Prof. Wolfram Pernice