See Home UTLC

Academic Writing Support for UT students

Covid-19 Update

Due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19), writing centre services are now available online via Canvas Conferences. Questions? Please contact us at writingcentre@utwente.nl.

Writing Support 

The UT Writing Centre is here to support BSc and MSc students with their writing.

We provide free one-on-one help with any writing task at any stage of the writing process. We are trained to help you identify and correct issues related to structure and language. We will teach you strategies for improving your writing and guide you through useful print and digital resources.

There are three ways to get individual help:

  • 1. Come to the Drop-in hours

    We offer online writing support for BSc and MSc students. Come to our weekly drop-in hours on Canvas Conferences to speak one-one-one with a writing tutor about your text. Students are allowed one 45-minute session per day. Support is available in English and Dutch.

    To join, self-enroll in the Canvas course here. Come on in! We are ready to help. Please note that registration for UT Writing Centre drop-in hours is only open for bachelor and master students. Writing support for PhDs can be found here.

    Date

    Time

    Language

    Monday 1 February

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Tuesday 2 February

    11:00-13:00

    English and Dutch

    Wednesday 3 February

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Thursday 4 February

    11:00-13:00

    English and Dutch

    Friday 5 February

    14:00-16:00

    English and Dutch

    Monday 8 February

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Tuesday 9 February

    10:00-12:00

    English and Dutch

    Wednesday 10 February

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Thursday 11 February

    14:00-16:00

    English and Dutch

    Friday 12 February

    14:00-16:00

    English and Dutch

    Monday 15 February

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Tuesday 16 February

    11:00-13:00

    English and Dutch

    Wednesday 17 February

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Thursday 18 February

    16:00-18:00

    English and Dutch

    Friday 19 February

    14:00-16:00

    English and Dutch

    Monday 22 February

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Tuesday 23 February

    17:00-19:00

    English and Dutch

    Wednesday 24 February

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Thursday 25 February

    11:00-13:00

    English and Dutch

    Friday 26 February

    14:00-16:00

    English and Dutch

    Monday 1 March

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Tuesday 2 March

    16:00-18:00

    English and Dutch

    Wednesday 3 March

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Thursday 4 March

    17:00-19:00

    English and Dutch

    Friday 5 March

    14:00-16:00

    English and Dutch

    Monday 8 March

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Tuesday 9 March

    16:00-18:00

    English and Dutch

    Wednesday 10 March

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Thursday 11 March

    16:00-18:00

    English and Dutch

    Friday 12 March

    14:00-16:00

    English and Dutch

    Monday 15 March

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Tuesday 16 March

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Wednesday 17 March

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Thursday 18 March

    14:00-16:00

    English and Dutch

    Friday 19 March

    11:00-13:00

    English and Dutch

    Monday 22 March

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Tuesday 23 March

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Wednesday 24 March

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Thursday 25 March

    15:00-17:00

    English and Dutch

    Friday 26 March

    11:00-13:00

    English and Dutch

    Monday 29 March

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Tuesday 30 March

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Wednesday 31 March

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Thursday 1 April

    17:00-19:00

    English and Dutch

    Tuesday 6 April

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Wednesday 7 April

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Thursday 8 April

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Friday 9 April

    14:00-16:00

    English and Dutch

    Monday 12 April

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Tuesday 13 April

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Wednesday 14 April

    19:00-21:00

    English and Dutch

    Thursday 15 April

    11:00-13:00

    English and Dutch

    Friday 16 April

    14:00-16:00

    English and Dutch

    Opening hours are subject to change throughout the academic year.

  • 2. Make an appointment
    Teacher sessions:

    Teacher sessions will be conducted in Canvas Conferences. Your teacher will email you instructions on how to join the conference after you register for an appointment.

    We offer online writing support for BSc and MSc students. Make an appointment to discuss your text with one of the UT Language Centre teachers. Students are allowed three 45-minute sessions per academic year. Register for an appointment below.

    English text (BSc/MSc students):
    Click here to register for an appointment.
    Tuesday: Stefanie Allum
    Wednesday: Rebecca Veneri / Molly Waite
    Thursday: Heather Willson
    Friday: Apoorva Sonawane

    Dutch text (BSc/MSc students):
    Dutch support is available during all drop-in hours. Self-enroll in drop-in hours here.

    Teacher support with Dutch texts is available by request. Please contact us at writingcentre@utwente.nl.
    Thursday, Friday: Eltine Kampen

    Research Honours Futures Bachelor coaching:
    Click here to register for an appointment.
    Select dates: Jae Evans

    TGS Research Honours Masters coaching: 
    Click here to register for an appointment.
    Tuesday: Molly Waite
    Wednesday: Rebecca Veneri

  • 3. Ask a quick question

    If you have a quick question about writing, you can contact the UT Writing Centre team at writingcentre@utwente.nl. You will receive a reply within three working days.

    The UT Writing Centre is a free service provided by the UT Language Centre.

Academic Writing Workshops

Did you know that the UT Skills Lab offers workshops on academic writing?