See Academic staff

Prof. Dr. Ir. Jurriaan huskens

J. Huskens
Name: Prof. dr. ir. Jurriaan Huskens
Room: Carre 4.221
Phone +31 53 489 2995
Fax +31 53 489 4645
Secret. +31 53 489 2980

curriculum vitae

Jurriaan Huskens

Jurriaan Huskens (1968) studied chemical engineering (with honors) at the Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands. His final project, supervised by Prof. Dr. Constant A. A. van Boeckel and Dr. Will H. A. Kuijpers, involved the synthesis of well-defined phosphate-methylated oligonucleotides. He was a recipient of the Unilever Research Award 1990.

He obtained his PhD with Prof. Dr. Herman van Bekkum and Dr. Joop A. Peters from the Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands, in 1994, on a project in the field of homogeneous catalysis and coordination chemistry of lanthanide complexes. In 1995 and 1996, he was a postdoc with Prof. Dr. A. Dean Sherry at the University of Texas at Dallas, USA. This project concerned the synthesis, characterization, and application of macrocyclic ligands for the development of medical diagnostics for magnesium and the characterization of novel lanthanide complexes for magnetic resonance imaging. In 1997, he was awarded a Marie Curie fellowship from the European Commission to work in the group of Prof. Dr. Manfred T. Reetz at the Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung, Mülheim an der Ruhr, Germany. This project involved the fundamental aspects of enantiotopic group recognition, i.e. the selective complexation of one of two enantiotopic groups present in a single guest molecule by a chiral host.

In May 1998, he became Assistant Professor in the group of Prof. Dr. David N. Reinhoudt at the University of Twente, The Netherlands, and Associate Professor in March 2003. In this period he worked on aqueous supramolecular chemistry in solution and at surfaces and on surface structuring techniques. He is the recipient of an NWO “Vernieuwingsimpuls Vidi” grant (2002). From January 2005 – January 2008, he has been Program Director “Nanofabrication” at the MESA+ Institute for Nanotechnology, leading a joint research program between six research groups ranging from chemistry to physics to microengineering.

He has been appointed Full Professor “Molecular NanoFabrication” at the University of Twente, The Netherlands, in September 2005. He is the recipient of the Gold Medal of the Royal Netherlands Chemical Society 2007, of the NWO Vici grant (2008), and of an IAS Fellowship of the Institute of Advanced Study, University of Durham, UK (2018). He has been a Visiting Professor at Northwestern University (2013), the University of Padova, Italy (2018), and the University of Durham, UK (2019).

Present research interests encompass: multivalency, virus and DNA sensing, supramolecular chemistry at interfaces, supramolecular materials, nanofabrication, and solar fuels. He is (co)author of about 400 refereed research papers and five patents.