Call for Contributions

Call for Papers

The 5th International Conference on Graph Transformation (ICGT 2010) will be held at the University of Twente in Enschede (The Netherlands) in the last week of September 2010. It continues the line of conferences previously held in Barcelona (Spain) in 2002, Rome (Italy) in 2004, Natal (Brazil) in 2006 and Leicester (UK) in 2008, as well as a series of six International Workshops on Graph Transformation with Applications in Computer Science between 1978 and 1998. The conference takes place under the auspices of EATCS, EASST, and IFIP WG 1.3. Awards will be given by EATCS and EASST for the best theoretical and application-oriented papers. Proceedings will be published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series (

ICGT 2010 will be colocated with the SPIN 2010 workshop on Software Model Checking, and will also host several satellite events.

Invited Speakers

We are pleased to announce the following invited speakers:

  • Javier Esparza, University of Munich (joint keynote speaker with SPIN 2010)
  • Krzysztof Czarnecki, University of Waterloo
  • Christoph Brandt, University of Luxembourg

Sattelite Events

The following workshops will take place as ICGT satellite events:

  • 3rd Workshop on Graph Computation Models (GCM 2010)
  • 6th International Workshop on Graph-Based Tools (GraBaTs 2010)
  • 4th Workshop on Petri Nets and Graph Transformations (PNGT 2010)
  • Workshop and Tutorial on Natural Computing (WTNC 2010)


Graphs are among the simplest and most universal models for a variety of systems, not just in computer science, but throughout engineering and the life sciences. When systems evolve we are interested in the way they change, to predict, support, or react to their evolution. Graph transformation combines the idea of graphs as a universal modelling paradigm with a rule-based approach to specify evolution. The area is concerned with both the theory of graph transformation and their application to a variety of domains.

The conference aims at bringing together researchers and practitioners interested in the foundations and application of graph transformation to a variety of areas. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Foundations and theory of

  • General models of graph transformation
  • High-level and adhesive replacement systems
  • Node-, edge-, and hyperedge replacement grammars
  • Parallel, concurrent, and distributed graph transformation
  • Term graph rewriting
  • Hierarchical graphs and decompositions of graphs
  • Graph theoretical properties of graph languages
  • Geometrical and topological aspects of graph transformation
  • Automata on graphs and parsing of graph languages
  • Analysis and verification of graph transformation systems
  • Structuring and modularization concepts for transformation systems
  • Graph transformation and Petri nets

Languages, tool support and applications in

  • Software architecture
  • Workflows and business processes
  • Software quality, testing and evolution
  • Access control and security models
  • Aspect-oriented development
  • Model-driven development, especially model transformations
  • Domain-specific languages
  • Implementation of programming languages
  • Bioinformatics and system biology
  • Natural computing
  • Image generation and pattern recognition techniques
  • Massively parallel computing
  • Self-adaptive systems and ubiquitous computing
  • Service-oriented applications and semantic web

Paper submission is at Submitted papers may not exceed fifteen (15) pages using Springer's LNCS format, and should contain original research. Simultaneous submission to other conferences with proceedings or submission of material that has already been published elsewhere is not allowed.

Selected papers will be invited for submission to special issues of Fundamenta Informaticae (for theoretically oriented papers) and Software and Systems Modeling (for application-oriented papers).

Important Dates

  • Abstract submission: 9 April 2010
  • Full paper submission: 16 April 2010
  • Notification of acceptance: 7 June 2010
  • Final version due: 28 June 2010
  • Main conference: 29 September - 1 October 2010
  • Satellite events: 28 September and 2 October 2010


The University of Twente is located in a beautiful green area between the cities of Hengelo and Enschede, in the eastern part of The Netherlands. It has good connections to the airports of Schiphol (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) and Münster (Germany). The main town, Enschede, lies directly on the Dutch/German border, and it is a characteristic, modern and lively university town. Elegant historic buildings in the town and surrounding area are evocative of Enschede's rich textile past. Some of the town's most notable monuments are the beautiful town hall, several beautiful churches and a unique synagogue.

The University of Twente is an entrepreneurial research university. It was founded in 1961 and offers education and research in areas ranging from public policy studies and applied physics to biomedical technology. The UT is the Netherlands' only campus university. It counts in the order of 10,000 students.

Programme Committee

  • Paolo Baldan, University of Padova (Italy)
  • Luciano Baresi, University of Milano (Italy)
  • Michel Bauderon, University of Bordeaux (France)
  • Artur Boronat, University of Leicester (UK)
  • Paolo Bottoni, University of Rome La Sapienza (Italy)
  • Andrea Corradini, University of Pisa (Italy)
  • Juan de Lara, Autonomous University of Madrid (Spain)
  • Hartmut Ehrig, Technical University of Berlin (Germany)
  • Gregor Engels, University of Paderborn (Germany)
  • Claudia Ermel, Technical University of Berlin (Germany)
  • Holger Giese, University of Potsdam (Germany)
  • Annegret Habel, University of Oldenburg (Germany)
  • Reiko Heckel, University of Leicester (UK)
  • Dirk Janssens, University of Antwerp (Belgium)
  • Garbor Karsai, Vanderbilt University (USA)
  • Ekkart Kindler, Technical University of Denmark (Denmark)
  • Barbara Koenig, University of Duisburg-Essen (Germany)
  • Hans-Jörg Kreowski, University of Bremen (Germany)
  • Ralf Lämmel, University of Koblenz (Germany)
  • Mark Minas, Universität der Bundeswehr München (Germany)
  • Ugo Montanari, University of Pisa (Italy)
  • Mohamed Mosbah, University of Bordeaux (France)
  • Manfred Nagl, RWTH Aachen University (Germany)
  • Fernando Orejas, Technical University of Catalonia (Spain)
  • Francesco Parisi-Presicce, University of Rome La Sapienza (Italy)
  • Rinus Plasmeijer, Radboud University (The Netherlands)
  • Detlef Plump, University of York (UK)
  • Arend Rensink (PC co-chair), University of Twente (The Netherlands)
  • Leila Ribeiro, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (Brazil)
  • Andy Schürr (PC co-chair), Technische Universität Darmstadt (Germany)
  • Gabriele Taentzer, University of Marburg (Germany)
  • Pieter Van Gorp, Technical University of Eindhoven (The Netherlands)
  • Dániel Varró, Budapest University of Technology and Economics (Hungary)
  • Gergely Varró, Budapest University of Technology and Economics (Hungary)
  • Jens-Holger Weber-Jahnke, University of Victoria (USA)
  • Albert Zündorf, University of Kassel (Germany)


Program Chairs

Local Organisation

Publicity Chair

Workshop Chair

Further information can be found at: