ICOM 2011

Dear ICOM 2011 participants, dear colleagues and friends,

On behalf of the Membrane Technology Group of the University of Twente, we would like to sincerely thank all ICOM 2011 participants for making this ICOM a great success! Over 1000 participants joined ICOM. Many of you provided an oral or a poster presentation, participated as a member of the scientific committee of ICOM 2011, act as chair or judge and actively participated in scientific discussions and informal get-togethers.

Through this website we would like to give you a glimpse of ICOM 2011. We hope it will refresh your memories and make you remember ICOM 2011.

Once more, thank you very much for a wonderful ICOM 2011!

Kitty Nijmeijer

Antoine Kemperman

Matthias Wessling

Chairs ICOM 2011

Facts ICOM 2011

- 3 plenary lectures

- 78 sessions and keynotes

- 306 lectures

- 2 poster sessions, 677 posters

- 137 chairs

1051 participants at ICOM 2011

- Asia 22 %

- America 13 %

- Europe 65 %

- Germany 14.4 %

- The Netherlands 11.6 %

- USA 10.0 %

- France 8.3 %

- Japan 7.1 %

- South Korea 5.1 %

- United Kingdom 4.0 %

- China 3.3 %

- Australia 2.4 %

- Others 33.8 %

The organization

This years ICOM 2011 was hosted by the Membrane Technology Group of the University of Twente and organized in Amsterdam, The Netherlands, from July 23 until July 29, 2011. ICOM, the International Congress on Membranes and Membrane Processes, is the world's largest conference on fundamental and applied membrane science technology. It offers a platform for extensive exchange of ideas, thoughts and discussions on membranes and membrane processes.

Social program

The social program of ICOM 2011 included a welcome reception on Sunday evening, two poster sessions and a boat tour through the canals of Amsterdam combined with a conference banquet at the ‘Beurs van Berlage’, the former stock exchange building.

Student paper awards

The European Membrane Society (EMS) provided 4 oral and 4 poster prizes of € 500 each and the Membrane Society of Australasia provided 2 oral and 4 poster prizes of AUS$ 500 each for young researchers in the field of membrane science and technology. The winners of the awards are:

Poster prize

David Grzenia Colorado State University USA

Marlon Tijink University of Twente The Netherlands

Blaine Carter University of Colorado USA

Sebastian Schwark Universität Duisburg-Essen Germany

Bahar Basak Peksen Ozer Yzmyr Institue of Technology Turkey

Kotaku Yuasa Kobe University Japan

Presentation prize

Olga Maria Kattan University of Twente The Netherlands

Joanna Stawikowska Imperial College United Kingdom

Wei-Song Hung Chun Yuang University Taiwan

Geoffrey Geise University of Texas at Austin USA

Jing Lei Universität Duisburg-Essen Germany

David Vermaas Wetsus/University of Twente The Netherlands


Prior to ICOM, we organized Network Young Membranes (NYM13) in Enschede, The Netherlands from July 21 until July 23, 2011. NYM aims at exchanging ideas on recent scientific developments in the field of membrane science and technology between young researchers from all over the world. It provides an excellent platform for young scientists to have fruitful discussions and pursue new ideas.          

Pre-conference workshops

As part of the technical program for ICOM 2011, an international group of membrane experts conducted four 1-day workshops in key membrane technological areas:

- Hydrodynamics and module design

Prof. Thomas Melin, RWTH Aachen, Germany

- Membrane bioreactors

Prof. TorOve Leiknes, NTNU, Trondheim, Norway

- Desalination

Dr. Pierre Aimar, Université de Toulouse, Toulouse, France

- Membrane gas separation for industrial flue gases

Ir. Paul Raats, KEMA Nederland B.V., Arnhem, The Netherlands


We are very grateful to our sponsors and we highly appreciate their financial support. Without that, ICOM 2011 would not have been possible.

Next membrane conferences

NAMS 2012

June 9-13, 2012; New Orleans, Louisiana


Euromembrane 2012

September 23-27, 2012; London, UK


Aachener Membrane Kolloquium (AMK)

November 7-8, 2012; Aachen, Germany



November 25-29, 2013; Melbourne, Australia

ICOM 2014

July 20-25, 2014; Suzhou, China