MESA+ University of Twente
Inorganic Materials Science Group


Ph.D. thesis


Gerwin Hassink



Two-dimensional electron layers in perovskite oxides




V. Boffa, J.E. ten Elshof, R. Garcia, and D.H.A. Blank, “Microporous niobia-silica membranes: Influence of sol composition and structure on gas transport properties,” Micropor. Mesopor. Mater. 118 (2009) 202-209



H. Nishikawa, E. Houwman, H. Boschker, M. Mathess, D.H.A. Blank, G. Rijnders, “Rotation of the magnetic easy axis in La0.67Sr0.33MnO3 thin film on NdGaO3(112), Appl. Phys. Lett. 94 (2009) 042502



R. Kreiter, M.D.A. Rietkerk, H.L. Castricum, H.M. van Veen, J.E. ten Elshof, and J.F. Vente, “Stable hybrid silica nanosieve membranes for dehydration of lower alcohols,” ChemSusChem 2 (2009) 158-160.



Mark Huijben, Alexander Brinkman, Gertjan Koster, Guus Rijnders, Hans Hilgenkamp David Blank, “Structure-Property Relation of SrTiO3/LaAlO3 Interfaces”, Adv. Mat. 21 (2009) 1665-1677



Jing Xia, W. Siemons, G. Koster, M.R. Beasley, A. Kapitulnik, “Critical thickness for itinerant ferromagnetism in ultrathin films of SrRuO3”, Phys. Rev. B. 79 (2009) 140407(R)



V. Boffa, H.L. Castricum, R. Garcia, R. Schmuhl, A.V. Petukhov, D.H.A. Blank, and J.E. ten Elshof, “Structure and growth of polymeric niobia-silica mixed-oxide sols for microporous molecular sieving membranes: A SAXS study,” Chem. Mater. 21 (2009) 1822-1828



Louis Winnubst, Shen Ran, Emiel A. Speets, Dave H.A. Blank, “Analysis of reactions during sintering of CuO-doped 3Y-TZP nano-powder composites”, J. Eur. Ceram. Soc. 29 (2009) 2549-2557



Wolter Siemons, Gertjan Koster, Dave H. A. Blank, Robert H. Hammond, Theodore H. Geballe, and Malcolm R. Beasley, “Tetragonal CuO: End member of the 3d transition metal monoxides”, Phys. Rev. B 79 (2009) 195122



Jing Xia, W. Siemons, G. Koster, M.R. Beasley, and A. Kapitulnik, “Critical thickness for itinerant ferromagnetism in ultrathin films of SrRuO3”, Phys. Rev. B 79 (2009) 140407(R)



H. Boschker, M. Mathews, E.P. Houwman, H. Nishikawa, A. Vailionis, G. Koster, G. Rijnders, and D.H.A. Blank, “Strong uniaxial in-plane magnetic anisotropy of (001)- and (011)-oriented La0.67Sr0.33MnO3 thin films on NdGaO3 substrates”, Phys. Rev. B 79 (2009) 214425



M. Dekkers, M.D. Nguyen, R. Steenwelle, P.M. te Riele, D.H.A. Blank, G. Rijnders, “Ferroelectric properties of epitaxial Pb(Zr, Ti)O3 thin films on silicon by control of crystal orientation”, Appl. Phys. Lett. 95 (2009) 012902



Shen Ran, Louis Winnubst, Dave H.A. Blank, Henry R. Pasaribu, Jan-Willem Sloetjes, Dik J. Schipper, “Dry-sliding self-lubricating ceramics: CuO doped 3Y-TZP”, Wear 267 (2009) 1696-1701



Sachin Kinge, Tian Gang, Wouter J. M. Naber, Hans Boschker, Guus Rijnders, David N. Reinhoudt, and Wilfred G. van der Wiel, “Low-Temperature Solution Synthesis of Chemically Functional Ferromagnetic FePtAu Nanoparticles”, Nano Letters 9 [9] (2009) 3220-3224



M. Mathews, R. Jansen, G. Rijnders, J.C. Lodder and D.H.A. Blank, “Magnetic oxide nanowires with strain-controlled uniaxial magnetic anisotropy direction”, Phys. Rev. B. 80 [6] (2009) 064408



M. Salluzzo, G. Ghiringhelli, J. C. Cezar, N. B. Brookes, V. Bisogni, G. M. De Luca, C. Richter, S. Thiel, J. Mannhart, M. Huijben, A. Brinkman, G. Rijnders, “Orbital reconstruction and two-dimensional electron gas at the LaAlO3/SrTiO3 interface”, Phys. Rev. Lett. 102 (2009) 166804



P. Maksymovych, N. Balke, S. Jesse, M. Huijben, R. Ramesh, A.P. Baddorf, and S.V. Kalinin, “Defect-induced asymmetry of local hysteresis loops on BiFeO3 surfaces”, J. Mat. Sci. 44 (2009) 5095-5101



D.H.A. Blank and G. Rijnders, “Oxides offer the write stuff”, Nature Nanotechnology 4 (2009) 279-280



G.I. Spijksma, G.A. Seisenbaeva, A. Fischer, H.J.M. Bouwmeester, D.H.A. Blank, V.G. Kessler, “The molecular composition of non-modified and acac-modified propoxide and butoxide precursors of zirconium and hafnium dioxides”, J. Sol-Gel Sci. Technol. 51 (2009) 10-22



Arturas Vailionis, Hans Boschker, Evert Houwman, Gertjan Koster, Guus Rijnders, and Dave H. A. Blank, “Anisotropic stress relief mechanism in epitaxial La0.67Sr0.33MnO3 films”, Appl. Phys. Lett 95 (2009) 152508



S.U. Khan, O.F. Göbel, D.H.A. Blank, and J.E. ten Elshof, “Patterning lead zirconate titanate nanostructures at sub-200-nm resolution by soft confocal imprint lithography and nanotransfer molding, ACS Appl. Mater. & Interfaces, 1 [10] (2009) 2250-2255



Gerald I. Spijksma, Dave H. A. Blank, Henny J. M. Bouwmeester and Vadim G. Kessler, “Modification of Different Zirconium Propoxide Precursors by Diethanolamine. Is There a Shelf Stability Issue for Sol-Gel Applications?”, Int. J. Mol. Sci. 10 (2009) 4977-4989



A. George, D.H.A. Blank, and J.E. ten Elshof, “Nanopatterning from the gas phase: high resolution soft lithographic patterning of organosilane thin films,” Langmuir, 25 [23] (2009) 13298-13301



S.S.A. Seo, Z. Marton, W.S. Choi, G.W.J. Hassink, D.H.A. Blank, H.Y. Hwang, T.W. Noh, T. Egami, H.N. Lee, “Multiple conducting carriers generated in LaAlO3/SrTiO3 heterostructures”, Appl. Phys. Lett. 95 (2009) 082107



M. Stodolny, F.P.F. van Berkel, B.A. Boukamp, "La(Ni,Fe)O3 Stability in the Presence of Cr Species - Solid State Reactivity Study”, ECS Transactions, 25 (2) (2009) 2915-2922