MESA+ University of Twente
Inorganic Materials Science Group


Ph.D. theses


Mattijn Dekkers



Transparent conducting oxides on polymeric substrates - by pulsed laser deposition



Mercy Mathews



Structural and magnetic properties of epitaxial La0.67Sr0.33MnO3 films and nanostructures



Tijana Zivkovic



Thin Supported Silica Membranes




M. Dekkers, G. Rijnders and Dave H. A. Blank, “ZnIr2O4, a p-type transparent oxide semiconductor in the class of spinel zinc-d6-transition metal oxide,” Appl. Phys. Lett., 90 021903 (2007).



V. Boffa, J.E. ten Elshof and D.H.A. Blank, “Preparation of templated mesoporous silica membranes on macroporous a-alumina supports via direct coating of thixotropic polymeric sols,” Micropor. Mesopor. Mat., 100 173-82 (2007).



S. Ran, A.J.A. Winnubst, H. Koster, P.J. de Veen and D.H.A. Blank, “Sintering behaviour and microstructure of 3Y-TZP + 8 mol% CuO nano-powder composite,” J. Eur. Ceram. Soc., 27 683-87 (2007).



H.L. Castricum, A. Sah, M.C. Mittelmeijer-Hazeleger, C. Huiskes, and J.E. ten Elshof, “Microporous structure and enhanced hydrophobicity in methylated SiO2, for molecular separation” J. Mater. Chem., 17 [15] 1509-18 (2007).



G.I. Spijksma, L. Kloo, H.J.M. Bouwmeester, D.H.A. Blank and V.G. Kessler, “Nonacoordinated MO6N3 centers M = Zr, Hf as a stable building block for the contruction of heterometallic alkoxide precursors,” Inorg. Chim. Acta, 360 2045-55 (2007).



P.D. Thang, G. Rijnders and D.H.A. Blank, “Stress induced magnetic anisotropy of CoFe2O4 thin films using pulsed laser deposition,” J. Magn. Magn. Mater., 310 2621-23 (2007).



W. Siemons, G. Koster, H. Yamamoto, W. A. Harrison, G. Lucovsky, Th.H. Geballe, D.H.A. Blank and M.R. Beasley, “Origin of charge density at LaAlO3 on SrTiO3 heterointerfaces: possibility of intrinsic doping,” Phys. Rev. Lett., 98 196802 (2007).



O.F. Göbel, M. Nedelcu and U. Steiner, “Soft lithography of ceramic patterns,” Adv. Funct. Mater., 17 [7] 1131-36 (2007).



Ch.A. Nijhuis, B.A. Boukamp, B.J. Ravoo, J. Huskens and D.N. Reinhoudt, “Electrochemistry of ferrocenyl dendrimer-β-cyclodextrin assemblies at the interface of an aqueous solution and a molecular printboard,” J. Phys. Chem. C, 111 9799-9810 (2007).



A.V. Gaikwad, A. Holuigue, M.B. Thathagar, J.E. ten Elshof and G. Rothenberg, “Ion-leaching and atom-leaching mechanisms from palladium nanoparticles in cross-coupling reactions,” Chem. Eur. J., 13 [24] 6908-13 (2007).



S. Ran, L. Winnubst, D.H.A. Blank, H.R. Pasaribu, J.W. Sloetjes and D.J. Schipper, “Effect of microstructure on the tribological and mechanical properties of CuO-Doped 3Y-TZP Ceramics,” J. Am Ceram. Soc., 90 [9] 2747-52 (2007).



W. Siemons, G. Koster, A. Vailioneis, H. Yamamoto, D.H.A. Blank and M.R. Beasley, “Dependence of the electronic structure of SrRu O3 and its degree of correlation on cation off-stoichiometry,” Phys. Rev. B, 76 075126 (2007).



P.M. te Riele, A. Janssens, G. Rijnders and D.H.A. Blank, “Direct patterning of complex oxides by pulsed laser deposition through stencils,” J. Phys.: Conference Series, 59 404-07 (2007).



A.H.G. Vlooswijk, B. Noheda, G. Catalan, A. Janssens, B. Barcones, G. Rijnders, D.H.A. Blank, S. Venkatesan, B. Kooi and J.T.M. de Hosson, “Smallest 90° domains in epitaxial ferroelectric films,” Appl. Phys. Lett., 91 112901 (2007).



A. Brinkman, M. Huijben , M. van Zalk, J. Huijben, U. Zeitler, J.C. Maan, W.G. van der Wiel, G. Rijnders, D.H.A. Blank, and H. Hilgenkamp, “Magnetic effects at the interface between nonmagnetic oxides,” Nature Mater., 6 493-96 (2007).



P.L. Alsters, P.T. Witte, R. Neumann, D. Sloboda Rozner, W. Adam, R. Zhang, J. Reedijk, P. Gamez, J.E. ten Elshof, and S. Roy Chowdhury, “Fine-tuning and recycling of homogeneous tungstate and polytungstate epoxidation catalysts,” PETR-82 in: Books of Abstracts, 234th ACS National Meeting, Boston (MA), USA, August 19-23, 2007; American Chemical Society: Washington, DC, 2007.



V. Vonk, K.J.I. Driessen, M. Huijben, G. Rijnders, D.H.A. Blank, H. Rogalla, S. Harkema and H. Graafsma, “Initial structure and growth dynamics of Yba2Cu3O7-d during pulsed laser deposition,” Phys. Rev. Lett., 99 196106 (2007).



A. Vailionis, W. Siemons, G. Koster, “Strain-induced single-domain growth of epitaxial SrRuO3 layers on SrTiO3: A high-temperature x-ray diffraction study”, Appl. Phys. Lett. 91 071907 (2007)



W. Siemons, G. Koster, H. Yamamoto, T.H. Geballe, D.H.A. Blank, M.R. Beasley, “Experimental investigation of electronic properties of buried heterointerfaces of LaAlO3 on SrRiO3”, Phys. Rev. B 76 155111 (2007)



J.J. Broekmaat, F.J.G. Roesthuis, D.H.A. Blank, A.J.H.M. Rijnders, “Scanning Probe Microscope”, octrooi no. PCT/EP2007/009168



G. Catalan, A.H.G. Vlooswijk, J.A. Janssens, G. Rispens, S. Redfern, A.J.H.M. Rijnders, D.H.A. Blank, B. Noheda, “X-ray diffraction of ferroelectric nanodomains in PBTIO3 thin films”, Integrated Ferroelectrics 92 18-29 (2007)



A. Sah, H.L. Castricum, J. Vente, D.H.A. Blank, J.E. ten Elshof, “Micromolecular separation membrane with high hydrothermal stability”, World Patent application WO/2007/08212 (19 July 2007)