MESA+ University of Twente
Inorganic Materials Science Group

Publications 2005

Ph.D. theses


Shankho Roy Chowdhury



Ordered and disordered porous materials for nanofiltration application



F.H.B. Mertins



Perovskite-type ceramic membranes - Partial oxidation of methane in a catalytic membrane reactor



R. Schmuhl



Ion Selective Gates – Active device component for 3D microfluidic architecture



M.N.T. Pham



Ferroelectric composites of PZT-Pt




F.C.M. Woudenberg, W.F.C. Sager, J.E. ten Elshof, and H. Verweij, “Nanostructured barium titanate thin films from nanoparticles obtained by an emulsion precipitation method,” Thin Solid Films, 471 [1-2] 134-39 (2005).



R. Schmuhl, W. Nijdam, J. Sekulić, S. Roy Chowdhury, C.J.M. van Rijn, A. van den Berg, J.E. ten Elshof and D.H.A. Blank, “Si-supported mesoporous and microporous oxide interconnects as electrophoretic gates for application in microfluidic devices,” Anal. Chem., 77 178-84 (2005).



J. Sekulić, J.E. ten Elshof and D.H.A. Blank, “Selective pervaporation of water through a non-selective microporous titania membrane by a dynamically induced molecular sieving mechanism,” Langmuir, 21 [2] 508-10 (2005).



W.B.S. de Lint and N.E. Benes, “Separation properties of γ-alumina nanofiltration membranes compared to charge regulation model predictions,” J. Membrane Sci., 248 149-59 (2005).



A.J.H.M. Rijnders and D.H.A. Blank, “Build your own superlattice,” Nature, 433 369-70 (2005).



P.T. Witte, S. Roy Chowdhury, J.E. ten Elshof, D. Sloboda-Rozner, R. Neumann and P.L. Alsters, “Highly efficient recycling of a “sandwich” type polyoxometalate oxidation catalyst using solvent resistant nanofiltration,” Chem. Commun., 1206-08 (2005).



E.A. Speets, B. Dordi, B.J. Ravoo, N. Oncel, A.-S. Hallbäck, H.J W. Zandvliet, B. Poelsema, G. Rijnders, D.H.A. Blank and D.N. Reinhoudt, “Noble metal nanoparticles deposited on self-assembled monolayers using Pulsed Laser Deposition show coulomb blockade at room temperature,” Small, 1 [4] 395-98 (2005).



V.G. Kessler, G.A. Seisenbaeva, P. Werndrup, S. Parola and G.I. Spijksma, “Design of molecular structure and synthetic approaches to single-source precursors in the sol-gel technology,” Mater. Sci.-Poland 23 [1] 69-78 (2005).



J. Sekulić, J.E. ten Elshof and D.H.A. Blank, “Separation mechanism in dehydration of water/organic binary liquids by pervaporation through microporous silica,” J. Membrane Sci., 254 267-74 (2005).



Ariando, D. Darminto, H.J.H. Smilde, V. Leca, D.H.A. Blank, H. Rogalla and H. Hilgenkamp, “Phase-sensitive order parameter symmetry test experiments utilizing Nd2-xCexCuO4-y/Nb zigzag junctions,” Phys. Rev. Lett., 94 167001 (2005).



J. Zhu, J.G. van Ommen, H.J.M. Bouwmeester and L. Lefferts, “Activation of O2 and CH4 on yttrium-stabilized zirconia for the partial oxidation of methane to synthesis gas,” J. Catal., 233 434-41 (2005).



A.J.H.M. Rijnders and D.H.A. Blank, “Chapter 2 - Real-time growth monitoring by high-pressure RHEED during Pulsed Laser Deposition”; pp. 355-84 in Thin Films and Heterostructures for Oxide Electronics. Edited by S.B. Ogale, ISBN 0-387-25802-7, (2005).



P.D. Thang, G. Rijnders and D.H.A. Blank, “Spinel cobalt ferrite by complexometric synthesis,” J. Magn. Magn. Mater., 295 [3] 251-56 (2005).



H.L. Castricum, A. Sah, M.C. Mittelmeijer-Hazeleger and J.E. ten Elshof, “Hydrophobisation of mesoporous γ -Al2O3 with organochlorosilanes - efficiency and structure,” Micropor. Mesopor. Mater., 83 1–9 (2005).



W.E. van Zyl, E.P. Carton, T.P. Raming, J.E. ten Elshof and H. Verweij, “Dynamic shock compaction of a ZrO2-RuO2 electronic nanocomposite: toward functionally graded materials,” Phys. Status Solidi A, 202 [12] R132-34 (2005).



H.R. Pasaribu, K.M. Reuver, D.J. Schipper, S. Ran, K.W. Wiratha, A.J.A. Winnubst and D.H.A. Blank, “Environmental effects on friction and wear of dry sliding zirconia and alumina ceramics doped with copper oxide,” Int. J. Refract. Met. H., 23 386-90 (2005).



F.H.B. Mertins, H. Kruidhof and H.J.M. Bouwmeester, “Centrifugal casting of tubular perovskite membranes”, J. Am. Ceram. Soc., 88 [11] 3003-07 (2005).



S. Roy Chowdhury, D.H.A. Blank and J.E. ten Elshof, “Factors influencing the transport rate of short-chain alcohols through mesoporous γ-alumina membranes,” J. Phys. Chem. B, 109 22141-46 (2005).



D. Mijatovic, A. Brinkman, D. Veldhuis, H. Hilgenkamp, H. Rogalla, G. Rijnders, D.H.A. Blank, A.V. Pogrebnyakov, J.M. Redwing, S.Y.Xu, Q. Li, and X.X. Xi, "SQUID magnetometer operating at 37 K based on nanobridges in epitaxial MgB2 thin films", Appl. Phys. Lett., 87 192505 (2005).



M. Mathews, F.M. Postma, J.C. Lodder, R. Jansen, A.J.H.M. Rijnders and D.H.A. Blank, “Step-induced uniaxial magnetic anisotropy of La0:67Sr0:33MnO3 thin films”, Appl. Phys. Lett, 87 242507 (2005).



H.J.H. Smilde, A.A. Golubov, Ariando, G. Rijnders, J.M. Dekkers, S. Harkema, D.H.A. Blank, H. Rogalla, and H. Hilgenkamp, “Admixtures to d-wave gap symmetry in untwinned YBa2Cu3O7 superconducting films measured by angle-resolved electron tunneling”, Phys. Rev. Lett. 257001 (2005).



M.C. Verbraeken, B.A. Boukamp, D.H.A. Blank, P. Holtappels, U. Vogt, “Electrochemical characterisation of supporting SOFC anodes”, (2005) Proceedings – Electrochemical Soc iety, PV 2005-07, pp. 1218-1225



T. van Gestel, H. Kruidhof, H.J.M. Bouwmeester, D.H.A. Blank, “Ceramic membrane, its preparation and use”, European Patent 05077536.0, 4 November 2005