MESA+ University of Twente
Inorganic Materials Science Group

Publications 2001

Ph.D. theses


E.W.J. Römer



Amperometric NOx-sensor for combustion exhaust gas control






L.M. van der Haar



Mixed-conducting perovskite membranes for oxygen separation - Towards the development of a supported thin-film membrane






F.C.M. Woudenberg



Nanostructured oxide coatings via emulsion precipitation






M.G.H.M. Hendriks



Solid state supercapacitors - Based on metal/yttria-stabilised zirconia composites




P.J. Bouwman, B.A. Boukamp, H.J.M. Bouwmeester, H.J. Wondergem, P.H.L. Notten, “Structural analysis of submicrometer LiCoO2 films”, J. of the Electrochemical Soc., 148 (4) A311-A317 (2001).



M.W. den Otter, B.A. Boukamp and H.J.M. Bouwmeester, “Theory of oxygen isotope exchange,” Solid State Ionics, 139 89-94 (2001).



A. Nijmeijer, H. Kruidhof, R. Bredesen and H. Verweij, “Preparation and Properties of Hydrothermally stable γ-alumina membranes,” J. Am. Ceram. Soc., 84 [1] 136-40 (2001).



E.W.J. Römer, U. Nigge, Th. Schulte, H.D. Wiemhöfer and H.J.M. Bouwmeester, “Investigations towards the use of Gd0.7Ca0.3CoOx as membrane in an exhaust gas sensor for NOx,” Solid State Ionics, 140 97-103 (2001).



P.M. Biesheuvel, H. Verweij and V. Breedveld, “Evaluation of instability criterion for bidisperse sedimentation,” AIChE J., 47 [1] 45-52 (2001).



C.S. Chen, S. Ran, W. Liu, P.H. Yang, D.K. Peng and H.J.M. Bouwmeester, “YBa2Cu3O6-δ as an oxygen separation membrane”, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 40 [4] 784-86 (2001).



N.E. Benes, H. Jobic and H. Verweij, “Quasi-elastic neutron scattering study of the mobility of methane in microporous silica,” Microporous Mesoporous Mater., 43 147-52 (2001).



T.P. Raming, W.E. van Zyl and H. Verweij, “Influence of temperature and pressure on the densification, microstructure and electrical properties of the dual-phase system Y2 O3-doped ZrO2 and RuO2,” Chem. Mater., 13 284-89 (2001).



F.C.M. Woudenberg, W.F.C. Sager, N.G.M. Sibelt and H. Verweij, “Dense nanostructured t-ZrO2 coatings at low temperatures via modified emulsion precipitation,” Adv. Mater., 13 [7] 514-16 (2001).



N.E. Benes, G. Spijksma, H. Verweij, H. Wormeester and B. Poelsema, “CO2 sorption of a thin silica layer determined by spectroscopic ellipsometry”, AIChE J., 47 [5] 1212-18 (2001).




P.M. Biesheuvel, V. Breedveld, A.P. Higler and H. Verweij, “Graded membrane supports produced by centrifugal casting of a slightly polydisperse suspension,” Chem. Eng. Sc., 56 3517-25 (2001).



B.A. Boukamp, “Interpretation of an ‘inductive loop’in the impedance of an oxygen ion conducting electrolyte/metal electrode system,” Solid State Ionics 143 47-55 (2001).



L.N. van Rij, A.J.A. Winnubst and J. Schoonman, “Production of components for a catalytic methane sensor”; pp. 104-09 in: Proceedings, Ceramic materials, materials’ Analysis and Enviroment Protection Polymeric Materials, Vol. 4. Proc. Int. Conf. on Materials Science and Engineering, Brasov, Romania, March 1 –2, 2001.



N. Duan, J.E. ten Elshof and H. Verweij, “Sintering and electrical properties of PZT/Pt dual-phase composites,” J. Eur. Ceram. Soc., 21 [13] 2325-29 (2001).



P.M. Biesheuvel and W.B.S. de Lint, “Appplication of the charge regulation model to the separation of ions by hydrophilic membranes,” J. Coll. Interface Sci., 241 422-27 (2001).



J.E. ten Elshof, M.G.H.M. Hendriks, H.J.M. Bouwmeester and H. Verweij, “The near-surface defect structure of yttria-stabilised zirconia determined by measurement of the differential capacity,” J. Mater. Chem., 11 [10] 2564-71 (2001).



M.G.H.M. Hendriks, W.E. van Zyl, J.E. ten Elshof and H. Verweij, “Capacitance and microstructure of platinum/yttria-stabilised zirconia composites,” Mater. Res. Bull., 36 [13-14] 2395-2406 (2001).



G.C. Steenkamp, H.W.J.P. Neomagus, H.M. Krieg and K. Keizer, “Centrifugal casting of ceramic membrane tubes and the coating with chitosan,” Sep. Pur. Tech., 25 407-13 (2001).



H.M. Krieg, A.L. Botes, M.S. Smit, J.C. Breytenbach and K. Keizer, “The enantioselective catalytic hydrolysis of racemic 1,2-epoxyoctane in a batch and a continuous process,” J. Mol. Catal B: Enzymatic, 13 37-47 (2001).



R. Schmuhl, H.M. Krieg and K. Keizer, “Adsorption of Cu(II) and Cr(VI) ions by chitosan: Kinetics and equilibrium studies,” Water SA, 27 [1] 1-7 (2001).



M.G.H.M. Hendriks, M.J.G.W. Heijman, W.E. van Zyl, J.E. ten Elshof and H. Verweij, “Solid state supercapacitor materials: Layered structures of YSZ sandwiched between Pt/YSZ composites,” J. Appl. Phys., 90 [10] 5303-07 (2001).



M.González-Cuenca, W. Zipprich, B.A. Boukamp, G. Pudmich and F. Tietz, “Impedance studies on chromite-titanate porous electrodes under reducing conditions,” Fuel Cells, 1 [3-4] 256-64 (2001).



G.C. Steenkamp, K. Keizer, H.W.J.P. Neomagus and H.M. Krieg, “Copper(II) removal from polluted water with alumina/chitosan composite membranes,” J. Membrane Sci. 197 147-56 (2002).



T.J.K. Visser, S.J. Modise, H.M. Krieg and K. Keizer, “The removal of acid sulphate pollution by nanofiltration,” Desalination 140 79-86 (2001).



M.W. den Otter, H.J.M. Bouwmeester, B.A. Boukamp and H. Verweij, “Reactor flush time correction in relaxation experiments,” J. Electr. Soc., 148 [2] J1-J6 (2001).



Th. Schulte, R. Waser, E.W.J. Römer, H.J.M. Bouwmeester, U. Nigge and H.D. Wiemhöfer, “Development of oxygen-permeable ceramic membranes for NOx-sensors,” J. Eur. Ceram. Soc., 21 1971-75 (2001).



C.S. Chen, Z.P. Zhang, G.S. Jiang, C.G. Fan, W.Liu and H.J.M. Bouwmeester, “Oxygen permeation through La 0.4Sr 0.6Co 0.2Fe 0.8O 3-δ membrane,” Chem. Mater. 13 [9] 2797-2800 (2001).



H.J.M. Bouwmeester and L.M. van der Haar, “Oxygen permeation through mixed-conducting perovskite oxide membranes”; pp. 49-57 in: Materials for Electrochemical Energy Conversion and Storage, Ceramic Transactions, Vol. 127. Edited by A. Manthiram, P.N. Kumta, S.K. Sundaram and G. Ceder. The American Ceramic Society, Westerville, USA, 2002. Papers from the Electrochemical Materials, Processes and Devices symposium at the 102nd Annual meeting of the ACS, St Louis, Missouri, USA, April 29–May 3, 2000 and the 103rd Annual meeting of the ACS, Indianapolis, USA, April 22-25, 2001.



P.M. Biesheuvel, H. Verweij and V. Breedveld, “Microdivers to study sedimentation in polydisperse, concentrated colloidal suspensions,” AIChE J., 47 [9] 1969-77 (2001).



V. Richard, E. Favre, D. Tondeur, and A. Nijmeijer, "Experimental study of hydrogen, carbon dioxide and nitrogen permeation through a microporous silica membrane," Chem. Eng. J., 84 [3] 593-98 (2001).



B. Kerkwijk, M.M.L. Garcia-Curiel, E.J. Mulder, D.J. Schipper and H. Verweij, “Device comprising a member of ceramic material and a method for manufacturing a ceramic material having low friction coefficient,” International patent application WO 01/17926 A1, 15 March 2001.