Master Course - Physics of Sports

On May and June 2018, Prof. Christophe Clanet (Ecole Polytechnique) will come to the University of Twente to give a Master course on Physics of Sports. See the details below. 

When and where

Lectures are mandatory and will take place in two separated weeks. First round of lectures will run on May 14th, 16th and 18th. The second round will take place on June 25th, 27th and 29th (2018). 

Here are the details (you can also find them in, course code:193580900): 




May 14th

8:45 am - 12:30 pm


May 16th

8:45 am - 12:30 pm


May 18th

10:45 am - 12:30 pm


June 25th

8:45 am - 12:30 pm


June 27th

8:45 am - 12:30 pm


June 29th

8:45 am - 10:30 pm


How does it work

Evaluation will be based on projects carried out on sports (5 EC) or based on paper presentations or assignments (2 EC). There will be 2 rounds of lectures, one in May and one in June. After the first round, those aiming for the 5 EC should propose a project to perform. Those aiming for the 2 EC should decide for a paper to elaborate on. Both projects and papers will be discussed with the organisers (see below). 

The projects (5 EC): 

The choice of the problem is free, but a list of suggestions will be provided by the organizers. The project can be done in groups of maximum 2 people. Originality and creativity will be as valued as scientific rigor. The project will be delivered and presented in video format of about 3 minutes. 

The paper (2 EC): 

If your time is constrained, you can also decide to present a paper of your choice in the context of physics of sports and answer a few questions about it from the organisers. A date for the presentation will be arranged with the organisers. 

Who can enrol 

Although the course is oriented to master students, everybody is welcome to enrol in the course.

How to enrol

Fill up the form in the following link and specify your personal data and how many credits you want to apply for. 

This course is organized within the UT’s Master Programme on Applied Physics by:

  • Jacco Snoeijer,
  • Stefan Kooij,
  • Alvaro Marin,