Dies Natalis

Honorary Doctorates Lectures

The week before the Dies Natalis is the Week of Inspiration, with special guests including Gerard ‘t Hooft, Arnon Grunberg and Victor Mids. On Thursday 24 November from 14.00 until 16.00, the honorary doctorates will be giving inspiring lectures about their life, work and passion (in English). A broad outline of the programme: 14.00 Hugh Herr, 14.30 Edward Tufte, 15.00 Christoph Gerber, 15.30 Neelie Kroes. Take a look at the programme.

The University of Twente believes in the importance of paying tribute to people who have carried out work of exceptional scientific or social merit. A special way to show our appreciation for these leading lights is by means of an honorary doctorate. This is a doctoral degree conferred on individuals who have shown an exceptional achievement in the world of science or society at large, without having written a thesis on this topic. It is an exceptional honour which makes leading scientists and entrepreneurs lifetime ambassadors for the University of Twente.

The following exceptional individuals have been awarded an honorary doctorate by the University of Twente:
mr. Henri Termeer MBA 25 november 2011
mr Jamie Hyneman (together with mr Adam Savage) 25 november 2011
prof.dr. Wolfgang Knoll 25 november 2011
ms prof.dr. Helga Nowotny Ph.D. 25 november 2011
mr Adam Savage (together with mr Jamie Hyneman) 25 november 2011
ms prof. Ora Kedem 30 november 2007
dr. Gerard Holzmann 1 december 2006
ms prof.dr. Sheila Sen Jasanoff 1 december 2006
prof.dr. Sung Wan Kim 1 december 2006
prof.dr. James Fraser Stoddart 1 december 2006
prof. Anthony Giddens 29 november 2002
prof.dr. George Whitesides 30 november 2001
dr. Vinton Cerf 30 november 2001
prof.dr. Manuel Castells 30 november 2001
prof. Hiroyuki Yoshikawa 29 november 1996
mr.drs. Marten Oosting 29 november 1996
prof.dr. Jean-Marie Lehn 29 november 1991