During the celebration of the Dies Natalis, awards will be presented to two talented researchers.

The Overijssel PhD Award

The Overijssel PhD Award is awarded for a doctoral thesis of outstanding academic quality, that can be regarded as the start of a very promising academic career. The award, which consists of €5,000 and a certificate, is partly funded by the Province of Overijssel. Each faculty and each research institute may submit one doctoral thesis for the award.

Previous winners of the Overijssel PhD Award:
2007 dr. C.A. Nijhuis
2008 dr. F. Wolbers
2009 dr. I.M. Vellekoop
2010 dr. T. Han
2011 dr. M. Jurna
2012 dr. R.J.A.M. Stevens
2013 dr. M. Veldhorst
2014 dr. M. Timmer
2015 dr. R.M. van Wijk
2016 dr. D. van Dun
2017 dr. D. Nguyen
2018 dr. Xiaojue Zhu

 2018's winner Overijssel PhD Award, X. Zhu

The Professor De Winter Award

The Professor De Winter Award is named after professor De Winter who passed away in 2005. It is an international publication prize for outstanding female talent and is awarded to either an assistant professor or associate professor. The award is intended as a recognition of excellent academic research and an incentive to continue to pursue a successful academic career. The award for outstanding female talent has been made possible by a donation from the late Ms De Winter, who passed away on 25 April 2013, and the University of Twente Funds Foundation. The award consists of €2,500 and a certificate. The Professor De Winter Award will be presented by the Rector Magnificus during the Dies Natalis celebration. 

Previous winners of the Professor De Winter Award:
2007 dr. P. Habibovic
2008 dr. M.I.A. Stoelinga
2009 dr. P.W. Gerbens-Leenes
2010 dr.ir. D.C. Nijmeijer
2011 dr. N. Litvak
2012 dr. N.H. Katsonis
2013 dr. T. Filatova
2014 dr. S. le Gac and ms prof.dr. M. Huisman
2015 dr. A. Sperotto
2016 dr. J. Hofmeijer
2017 dr. A. Garde
2018 dr. K. Smetana