See Research

Research Colloquia

Research colloquia are based on a joint interest of PhD students and senior members, from different member universities, in a similar topic or field. Colloquia are headed by two senior members, who organize meetings on a regular basis (on average twice a year). During these meetings PhD students and senior members present and discuss their research.

Next to this feedback function, colloquia also have a product oriented focus; the members of a colloquium can, for example, decide to carry out research together, or write a form of publication together (book, article, paper, special issue).

In sum, colloquia serve three main functions:

  • To expand the network of researchers in similar fields of interest;
  • To offer feedback to PhD students and young researchers on their work; and
  • To produce useful output, which fits with the NIG research program. The NIG office supports the convenors of the colloquia, financially and otherwise.

At the moment we have the following colloquia

1: The Politics and Governance of Administrative Reform in Central and Eastern Europe

Chaired by: dr. Giselle Bosse (Maastricht University), dr. Veronica Junjan (University of Twente)

2: Reframing Professionalism

Chaired by: prof. dr. Mirko Noordegraaf (Utrecht University), prof. dr. Bram Steijn (Erasmus University) dr. Karin Geuijen (Utrecht University), dr. Lars Tummers (Utrecht University), dr. Scott Douglas (Utrecht University)

3: Public and Political Leadership (PUPOL)

Chaired by: Dr. Sabina Stiller (University of Amsterdam), Dr. Leonie Heres, (Utrecht University), Prof. Dr. Karin Lasthuizen (University of Wellington) 

4: Energy and Climate Governance

Chaired by: Dr. Thomas Hoppe (Delft University of Technology), Dr. Frans Coenen (University of Twente), Prof. Mr. Dr. Michiel Heldeweg (University of Twente), in collaboration with Anna Butenko (University of Amsterdam and Tilburg University)

5: EU and International Governance

Chaired by prof. dr. Esther Versluis (Maastricht University), dr. Rik de Ruiter (Leiden University)

6: Critical and Interpretive Public Administration

Chaired by: Lars Dorren (University of Antwerp), Lianne Visser (Radboud University), Dr. Mark van Ostaijen (Tilburg University), Dr. Shivant Jhagroe (University Leiden), Dr. Eva Wolf (Tilburg University), Prof. dr. Willem Trommel (VU Amsterdam), Dr. Merlijn van Hulst (Tilburg University), Joram Feitsma (Utrecht University) , Erik-Jan Dorp (Utrecht University)