NIG is a cooperation between eleven universities: Erasmus University Rotterdam, University of Leiden, University of Twente, University of Utrecht, VU University Amsterdam, Radboud University of Nijmegen, Technical University of Delft, University of Tilburg, University of Maastricht, the KU Leuven and the University of Antwerp. NIG represents the researchers and departments in the field of public administration and political science of these universities.

The Board of NIG consists of representatives of the founding universities, two representatives for the other universities and an independent chairman. The board is in charge of the overall strategy and decisions regarding NIG’s future. Also, they determine the annual budget and annual reports.

In the Advisory Council all participating universities are represented as well as the Ph.D. Council. This council provides advice to the directors on almost all activities of NIG, such as the Annual Workconference, the establishment of new Research Colloquia,  changes in NIG’s strategy and the training program for Ph.D students. The Advisory Council takes decisions on the applications for Research Activation Grants.

The Ph.D. Council consists of representatives of all participating universities. It meets about two times a year to discuss issues of importance to the Ph.D. students within NIG.

The NIG Office is located at the University of Twente. The management team of the NIG consists of:


NIG has been reaccredited by ECOS/KNAW (Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences) in 2012 for another period of 6 years (2012-2018).

Please note that NIG does NOT employ researchers and does not carry out research on its own.

NIG facilities are for MEMBERS ONLY.

NIG Board

Dr. Gerard Schouw, chair
Email: nig@utwente.nl

Prof.dr. Tannelie Blom, Maastricht University
Email: blom@maastrichtuniversity.nl

Prof.dr. Martin de Jong, Delft University of Technology 
Email: W.M.deJong@tudelft.nl

Prof.dr. Frits van der Meer, Leiden University 
Email: meerf@fsw.leidenuniv.nl

Prof.dr. Mirko Noordegraaf, Utrecht University
Email: m.noordegraaf@uu.nl

Prof.dr. Barbara Vis, VU University Amsterdam
Email: b.vis@vu.nl

NIG Advisory Council

Dr. Wijnand Veeneman, Delft University of Technology, Chair
Email: w.w.veeneman@tudelft.nl

Dr. Duco Bannink, VU University Amsterdam
Email: d.b.d.bannink@vu.nl

Dr. Wouter van Dooren, University of Antwerp 
Email: Wouter.VanDooren@ua.ac.be

Dr. Merlijn van Hulst, Tilburg University    
Email: m.j.verhulst@uvt.nl

Dr. Henk van der Kolk, Twente University 
Email: h.vanderkolk@utwente.nl

Dr. Rik de Ruiter, Leiden University
Email: r.de.ruiter@cdh.leidenuniv.nl

Dr. Thomas Schillemans, Utrecht University
Email: t.schillemans@uu.nl

Prof.dr. Bram Steijn, Erasmus University Rotterdam  
Email: steijn@fsw.eur.nl

Prof.dr. Esther Versluis, Maastricht University
Email: e.versluis@politics.unimaas.nl

Dr. Anna van der Vleuten, Radboud University
Email: a.vandervleuten@fm.ru.nl

Sabine van Zuydam MSc, Tilburg University
Email: s.vanzuydam@tilburguniversity.edu

NIG PhD Council

Machiel van der Heijden, Leiden University, chair
Email: phdcouncil-nig@utwente.nl ;  m.j.a.van.der.heijden@fgga.leidenuniv.nl

Joram Feitsma, Utrecht University
Email: j.n.p.feitsma@uu.nl

Noortje de Boer, Erasmus University Rotterdam
Email: n.c.deboer@fsw.eur.nl

Beau Warbroek, University of Twente
Email: w.d.b.warbroek@utwente.nl

Afke Groen, Maastricht University
Email: afke.groen@maastrichtuniversity.nl

Lianne Visser, Radboud University Nijmegen
Email: lianne.visser@fm.ru.nl

Wieke Blijleven, Tilburg University
W.Blijleven@uvt.nl

Eva Wolf, University of Antwerp
Eva.Wolf@uantwerpen.be