See News

International Workshop on Nanotechnology for a Sustainable Future

On November 19-20, the renowned Waterloo Institute for Nanotechnology (WIN) in Ontario, Canada, will host the “International Workshop on Nanotechnology for a Sustainable Future”. This virtual workshop will bring together world leaders in nanotechnology to address current global issues, to meet the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (UN SDG).

Researchers and governmental officials from four continents will present at this workshop including representatives from Japan’s Science & Technology Agency (JST), the University of Sydney Nanotechnology Institute in Australia, and Nanotechnology research hubs in the Netherlands, and WIN members, researchers from other Canadian universities, and Canadian funding agency representatives. The Ambassador of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to Canada, H.E. Ines Coppoolse, will give a short welcome speech.

The participating institutions have well-defined priority theme areas for 2020-21 each having excellent overlap, and will be discussed in the following five technical sessions:

  • Session 1: Nanotechnology & Society, Policy and Science Diplomacy (UN SDG #8, 10, 16, 17)
  • Session 2: Industry & Innovation (UN SDG #9, 11)
  • Session 3: Energy & Environment (UN SDG #7, 13)
  • Session 4: Devices & Technology for Healthcare (including COVID-19) and Communications/Photonics (UN SDG #3, 9, 11)
  • Session 5: Resource Management and the Circular Economy (UN SDG #6, 11, 12, 13, 17)

Click here to view the full conference agenda

Following the workshop, roundtable discussions will be held to identify areas of common strength, synergy and vision to support joint project and collaboration, and to set the foundations for a Network4Sustainable Nanotechnology consortium spanning the four continents and beyond.


  • Albert van den Berg, co-Science Director MESA+ Institute for Nanotechnology
  • Ronny Van 't Oever, CEO Micronit, chair MinacNed
  • Adrienne Sips, RIVM-nano
  • Pieter Telleman, Business Director MESA+
  • Karin Schroen, Professor Wageningen University
  • Guus Rijnders, co-Science Director MESA+, chair NanoLab NL