Model-Driven Architecture (MDA) is an initiative proposed by the Object Management Group (OMG) for platform-independent software development. It promotes the use of models in the specification, design, analysis, synthesis, deployment, and evolution of complex software systems.

ECMDA is dedicated to advancing the state of knowledge and fostering the industrialization of MDA and related approaches to Model-Driven Engineering. Its focus is on engaging the key figures of research and industry, in Europe and elsewhere, in a dialogue which will result in a stronger, more efficient industry, producing more reliable software on the basis of state-of-the-art research results.

The 2009 conference is again organized in two tracks dealing with the foundations and applications of MDA. Experience Reports on MDA tools and their applications are welcomed. There will be additional workshops, tool demonstrations, and poster exhibitions on these subjects.

Invited Speakers

  • David Harel, The Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
  • Tim Trew, NXP Semiconductors, The Netherlands
  • Akira Ohata, Toyota Motors, Japan


ECMDA has two separate paper tracks, one for research papers (Track F) and one for industrial papers (Track A). Each track will be judged differently. The academic track will be reviewed using common academic review guidelines, focusing on novel contributions to knowledge. Papers in the industrial track may be shorter and will be judged against special guidelines, as described below.

Research Papers on Foundations of MDA (Academic Track F)

In this track, we are soliciting papers presenting original research on all aspects of MDA. Typical but not exclusive topics of interest are:

  • Metamodeling – foundations and tools
  • Model Transformation and Code Generation
  • Reasoning about Models
  • Model Navigation
  • Model Synchronization and Consistency
  • Modeling of Requirements, Architectures, Platforms
  • Reverse Engineering
  • Modeling for Testing and Validation
  • Model Execution and Simulation
  • Modeling of Service Qualities and of Safety and Security
  • Aspect Modeling
  • Software Process Modeling, Enactment and Execution

The research papers should be between 12 and 16 pages long, in A4 size compliant with the LNCS paper style and should be submitted as PDF. They will be evaluated on novelty and theoretical contribution. No simultaneous submission to other publication outlets (either a conference or a journal) is allowed; any concurrent submission will result in the immediate rejection of the paper. The proceedings are planned to be published in a Springer LNCS volume.

Industrial Papers on Applications of MDA (Industrial Track A)

In this track, we are soliciting papers representing the views and experiences of industrial players in MDA and of MDA users. In particular, we are looking for papers that set requirements on the foundations, methods and tools for MDA. We are also seeking experience reports or case studies on the application, successes or current shortcomings of MDA. Quantitative results are appreciated. Industrial papers on all application areas of MDA are welcomed and may focus, for example, on one of the following:

  • MDA for Complex Systems and Systems of Systems
  • MDA for Embedded Systems and Real-Time Systems
  • MDA for High-Integrity Systems, Safety-Critical, and Security-Critical Systems
  • MDA in the Automotive, Aerospace, Telecommunications, Electronics Industries
  • Comparative Studies of MDA Methods and Tools
  • MDA Technology Adoption, Development and Roll-Out Processes
  • Metrics for MDA Development
  • MDA Training
  • MDA for Legacy Systems
  • MDA for Systems Engineering
  • Model Verification and Quality-Driven System Development
  • MDA and Multi-Domain Modeling Languages
  • MDA and Component-Based Software Engineering
  • MDA and Service Oriented Architectures
  • MDA and Business Process Modeling

The length of an industrial paper should be between 6 and 12 pages. Industrial papers will be evaluated on practical feasibility, maturity, and industrial relevance. No simultaneous submission to other publication outlets (conference or journal) is allowed. The proceedings are planned to be published in the same Springer LNCS volume as the proceedings of the Foundations track.

Submission and selection

NEW!!! Submission Deadline Extended: February 15th, 2009

You are asked to submit your contribution through the web site; see Submission occurs in two phases; please submit an abstract by February 15, 2009, and a full version by February 15, 2009. For further dates see

Programme Committee


Chair: Richard Paige, University of York

  • Xavier Blanc, Universite de Paris-6
  • Phil Brooke, University of Teesside
  • Jean-Luc De Keyser, LIFL
  • Miguel De Miguel, Polytechnical University of Madrid
  • Birgit Demuth, Technical University Dresden
  • Juergen Dingel, Queens University
  • Gregor Engels, University of Paderborn
  • Luís Ferreira Pires, University of Twente
  • Frederic Jouault, INRIA and EMN
  • Gabor Karsai, Vanderbilt University
  • Ingolf Krueger, University of California at San Diego
  • Ivan Kurtev, University of Twente
  • Ralf Laemmel, University of Koblenz
  • Tiziana Margaria, University of Potsdam
  • Richard Paige , University of York
  • Arend Rensink, University of Twente
  • Bernhard Rumpe, Technical University of Braunschweig
  • Houari Sahraoui, University of Montreal
  • Ina Schieferdecker, Technical University Berlin
  • Doug Schmidt, Vanderbilt University
  • Andy Schürr, Darmstadt University of Technology
  • Pieter van Gorp, University of Eindhoven
  • Marten van Sinderen, University of Twente
  • Jules White, Vanderbilt University
  • Steffen Zschaler, University of Lancaster


Chair: Alan Hartman, IBM

  • Jan Aagedal, Telenor
  • Dave Akehurst, Thales
  • Terry Bailey, Vicinay Cadenas
  • Mariano Belaunde, France Telecom
  • Marc Born, IKV
  • Zhen Ru Dai, Philips
  • Miguel Angel Fernandez, Telefonica
  • David Frankel, SAP
  • Mathias Fritzsche, SAP
  • Alan Hartman, IBM
  • Andreas Hoffmann, Fraunhofer Fokus
  • Olaf Kath, IKV
  • Erhan Mengusoglu, IBM
  • Parastoo Mohagheghi , Sintef
  • Nanjagud Narendra, IBM
  • Tor Neple, Sintef
  • Bjorn Nordmoen, Western Geco
  • Christoph Pohl, SAP
  • Laurent Rioux, Thales
  • Tom Ritter, Fraunhofer Fokus
  • Julia Rubin, IBM
  • Andrey Sadovykh, Softeam
  • Bran Selic, Malina
  • Bikram Sengupta, IBM
  • Alin Stefanescu, SAP
  • Juha-Pekka Tolvanen, Metacase
  • Tim Trew, NXP
  • Andreas Ulrich, Siemens
  • Regis Vogel, IHG
  • Jos Warmer, Ordina