The mission of MS3 is Manufacturing the Future: MS3 develops the technology for future manufacturing processes and new products by a science based engineering approach focused on material- and system behaviour and robust optimization.

Research Chairs

The department is composed of the following chairs (in random order):

  • Elastomer Technology and Engineering (ETE) headed by Prof.dr. A. Blume.
  • Mechanical Automation and Mechatronics (MA) headed by R.G.K.M. Aarts.
  • Design of Mechanisms and Robotics (DMR) headed by J.L. Herder.
  • Applied Laser Technology (LT) headed by A.J. Huis in ’t Veld.
  • Production Technology (PT) headed by R. Akkerman.
  • Engineering of Fibrous Smart Materials (EFSM) headed by M.M.C.G. Warmoeskerken.
  • Nonlinear Solid Mechanics (NSM) headed by A.H. van den Boogaard.
  • Structural Dynamics & Acoustics (SDA) headed by A. de Boer.
  • Dynamics Based Maintenance (DBM) headed by T. Tinga.
  • Surface Technology and Tribology (STT) headed by D.J. Schipper.
  • Skin Tribology (ST) headed by E. van der Heide.
  • Tribology Based Maintenance (TBM) headed by P.M. Lugt.


MS3 offers a wide variety of courses, either in the bachelor or master and professional courses. Additionally we organise project education for Bachelor students

Latest news

ASME Conference

Short description ... lees verder



Short descr. Euspen ... lees verder